Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Lock Mouse/Keyboard - But not screen

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Beans
    54
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Lock Mouse/Keyboard - But not screen

    I know this program exists, as I used to use it. I thought it was xlock, but all searches for that result in a different program.

    The one I have in mind, when ran, turned the mouse pointer into a blue lock, and mouse clicks and keyboard input were blocked until the user's password was entered. The screen never blanked.

    I can no longer seem to find it. Anyone have any ideas?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Beans
    54
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Lock Mouse/Keyboard - But not screen

    Found it. The name of the program is 'xtrlock' in case anyone else wants to use it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Beans
    14

    Re: Lock Mouse/Keyboard - But not screen

    Thanks, I was looking for exactly that program. Does anyone know how I could go about running that using a keyboard shortcut? I thought I knew, but I keep failing.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    At Home
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Lock Mouse/Keyboard - But not screen

    Quote Originally Posted by eraevous View Post
    Thanks, I was looking for exactly that program. Does anyone know how I could go about running that using a keyboard shortcut? I thought I knew, but I keep failing.
    I just started using xtrlock(universe repositories) as my transparent screensaver so the kids could watch movies and shows without being able to change anything. For some reason it couldn't be called directly, so I created a script called lockwithaview that calls xtrlock.

    Install xtrlock if you haven't already(must have the universe repos enabled):
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install xtrlock
    Lets create a new file in /usr/local/bin called lockwithaview and open it with gedit:
    Code:
    sudo gedit /usr/local/bin/lockwithaview
    It should contain the following(cut and paste):
    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    sleep 1 && xtrlock
    Save the file and close gedit.

    Make it executable:
    Code:
    sudo chmod a+x /usr/local/bin/lockwithaview
    Create a keyboard shortcut to execute lockwithaview(I used ctrl+alt+k) and you are finished.

    Now if someone would fix the bug where you can change TTYs, let you customize the blue lock icon, and make it an option for gnome-screensaver it would be just about perfect.
    Last edited by williamts99; February 14th, 2011 at 07:11 PM.
    My Dropbox referral and my SugarSync referral
    Must....Have.....More....Space...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Beans
    1
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Lock Mouse/Keyboard - But not screen

    Create a keyboard shortcut to execute lockwithaview(I used ctrl+alt+k) and you are finished.

    How do you do that?... i've tried to bind xtrlock using " gconf-editor " -apps - metacity and editing " global_keybindings " and " keybinding_commands ".

    No luck...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    3,509

    Re: Lock Mouse/Keyboard - But not screen

    Open Keyboard Shortcuts and use this in the command box.
    Code:
    bash -c "sleep 1 && xtrlock"
    It seems to register the upstroke and stop xtrlock from starting without the sleep command.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Sweden
    Beans
    29
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Lock Mouse/Keyboard - But not screen

    Quote Originally Posted by williamts99 View Post
    Now if someone would fix the bug where you can change TTYs...
    This you can fix using the xorg.conf. Lookup the
    Code:
    "DontVTSwitch" "true"
    option and you'll have this one nailed down.
    Last edited by fwendt; July 16th, 2011 at 09:36 PM. Reason: wrong option

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    At Home
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Lock Mouse/Keyboard - But not screen

    Quote Originally Posted by fwendt View Post
    This you can fix using the xorg.conf. Lookup the
    Code:
    "DontVTSwitch" "true"
    option and you'll have this one nailed down.
    Thanks! I will have to try that.
    My Dropbox referral and my SugarSync referral
    Must....Have.....More....Space...

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •