Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Can't install Ubuntu 8.10

Beans

Can't install Ubuntu 8.10

Hello Everyone

I'm having a problem while installing Ubuntu 8.10 . I'm quite new to linux so I'm very srry if what I'm about to ask is very stupid and rhetoric .

My pc configuration is like this

Total 160 gb hard drive
    Nvidia gforce etc.

Window xp is already installed in it

I have created ext < ext# and swap partitions using partition magic

Here's what my problem is

When i tried to install Ubuntu 8.10 from live cd on to the above partitions . I couldn't go beyond screen 4 i.e No partitions were visible there.

please advise as it is getting quite frustrating and I really want to try 8.10 out

Beans

Re: Can't install Ubuntu 8.10

I have read release notes and i think this is mentioned in it but It'd be really helpful to tell me how to go around this

Beans

Can't install Ubuntu 8.10

Hello Everyone

I'm having a problem while installing Ubuntu 8.10 . I'm quite new to linux so I'm very srry if what I'm about to ask is very stupid and rhetoric .

My pc configuration is like this

Total 160 gb hard drive
    Nvidia gforce etc.

Window xp is already installed in it

I have created ext < ext# and swap partitions using partition magic

Here's what my problem is

PS: To moderators I'm srry for posting this in multiple forums as I thought it can be put in either of them

When i tried to install Ubuntu 8.10 from live cd on to the above partitions . I couldn't go beyond screen 4 i.e No partitions were visible there.

Now I know this kinda thing was mentioned in release notes . It'd have been much better if a work around was posted along with that . So that noob like me don't get frustrated by this.

I really want to use ubuntu 8.10 so please help me

please advise as it is getting quite frustrating and I really want to try 8.10 out
    Last edited by Abhishek_12; November 8th, 2008 at 03:44 PM.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa