Thread: Quick and dirty back up for mp3s using xargs, find, and sed

Beans
    Distro
    Gutsy Gibbon Testing

Quick and dirty back up for mp3s using xargs, find, and sed

Quick and dirty Howto: How to back up your mp3s and ONLY your .mp3s, while still preserving their directory structure. The use of this method will not copy any directory that does not contain an mp3.

Before we start, please know that this is my first tutorial, and it is unnecessarily convoluted, and will screw your system up if you are not careful and/or don't know more than I do. Please read through it first so you know that it does what you need. I tested it in an iMac g5 (ppc64). I will be happy to answer any questions, but I am a noob, so don't expect any serious support. The way to undo the changes is to delete the directories you create, so keep those in mind, and experiment with a dummy location first.

I searched the forums and the net at large for a method to back up my mp3s and I found many interesting ones. However, none really did what I needed. So, over the course of the last 20 hours or so, I pieced many excellent pieces of advice into this, my first HOWTO. It goes without saying that the substitution of mp3 for any other filename fragment is trivial.

Let's assume "/originalPath/" is where your files currently are. They are mixed with every other type of file, which makes this difficult right? Fret not.

This guide will treat "/destinationPath/" as the path you want the files to go to.
    Type in "mkdir /destinationPath/" if you haven't done so. Remember not to type in "destinationPath", but use the path you want instead.

There are two systems of backing up. The first, and simplest, will pool all the mp3s into a single directory. While this can be useful for some situations, it will lead to some losses if your mp3's happen to share names.

The following line was blantantly stolen from hod139, in his excellent advice http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.p...+cp+.%2F%7B%7D
    Code: