Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: hp dc7700

Beans

hp dc7700

In case someone finds the thread here's some new advice on the dc7700.
    Mörgæs 2013-09-02

= = = = =

Folks,

I will be getting an HP dc7700 desktop machine within a week. AFAIK, it is almost impossible to install and use GNU/Linux on that at the moment - you need kernel 2.6.19 and so on. However, I am very willing to test Feisty on that - I suppose such a difficult machine will be great for bug reports. I'll need help with that, though, as I have never dealt with 64bit architecture.

When I have it delivered, I'll post here again.

P.S. Don't blame me on my choice for a machine. I do insist on running Free software on every machine I use. I am a graduate student at the CSE department at OSU, which has insane policies regarding departmental machines: I am not allowed to not boot windows on my office machine, I am not allowed to bring my own GNU/Linux desktop, and I am not allowed to connect my GNU/Linux laptop to the CSE network for reasons beyond my understanding (I suspect the people in charge are absolute MS zealots). I managed to find a loophole in their ridiculous policies - I talked to my advisor, and he will buy me another machine from his research grant, which will effectively belong to him - so it is possible that it sits in my office, and at the same time it will be beyond the CSE admins' control. Unfortunately, there is not much choice there either, because he must use the departmental contracts with the big fish - I am not allowed to build a machine myself with Newegg parts. The options I have are at http://ibuy.osu.edu/files/DesktopFileforibuyJan_3.pdf . I really need 2G of RAM for my research, so I'm restricted to the lower line. All three of those are nearly impossible to use with GNU/Linux right now (I did my research), but at least one of them is an HP, and HP has a track of GNU/Linux support.