Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: HOWTO: Using ALSA with CS4236 under Hoary

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Beans
    1

    Using ALSA with CS4236 under Hoary

    This is a quick-and-dirty hack to get the Alsa modules to load the cs4236 drivers (since the developers decided to leave-out alsaconf....) This same technique should work with other Alsa drivers...just substitute the proper driver in place of "snd-cs4236"

    1. Open a console and change to root
    sudo sh (enter your password - prompt should change from "$" to "#")

    2. change to /etc/init.d
    cd /etc/init.d

    3. edit the file "bootmisc.sh"
    nano bootmisc.sh

    4. add a new line at the bottom that reads
    /sbin/modprobe snd-cs4236

    5. save the file
    ctrl-x, y, <Enter>

    When you reboot, the sound will be initialized properly. To get sound without rebooting first, (still at the console as root) enter :
    modprobe cs-4236
    /etc/init.d/alsa restart
    You may need to restart the desktop to get all the sound server and mixer to respond properly.

    DIsclaimer: There's a probably a better/safer way to fix this properly, but I was interested in getting it done quickly, and this is what works for me. YMMV.
    Last edited by Zipslack; April 8th, 2005 at 07:55 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Middle East - Jordan
    Beans
    419
    Distro
    Ubuntu Mate 20.04 Focal Fossa

    Re: Using ALSA with CS4236 under Hoary

    Thank you man!
    Your freedom is worth more than you think. Take advantage of it while you can.
    I take Ubuntu

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Beans
    346

    Re: Using ALSA with CS4236 under Hoary

    modules to load usually go into /etc/modules, one module name per line.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Beans
    298
    Distro
    Ubuntu 7.04 Feisty Fawn

    Re: HOWTO: Using ALSA with CS4236 under Hoary

    Thanks I cant wait to try this when i get home I never could get sound on my laptop.
    In a world without walls who needs Windows??

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Düsseldorf/Germany
    Beans
    23

    Re: HOWTO: Using ALSA with CS4236 under Hoary

    Yep, I'm missing alsaconf too. No real reason to leave it out. Anyway, maybe one of you has a clue why I cant load the module (on a ThinkPad 770):
    root@tp770:~ # modprobe snd-cs4236
    FATAL: Error inserting snd_cs4236 (/lib/modules/2.6.10-5-386/kernel/sound/isa/cs423x/snd-cs4236.ko): No such device
    FATAL: Error running install command for snd_cs4236
    root@tp770:~ # ls -al /lib/modules/2.6.10-5-386/kernel/sound/isa/cs423x
    total 120
    drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 Jun 19 12:06 .
    drwxr-xr-x 10 root root 4096 Jun 19 12:06 ..
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 30476 Apr 5 15:40 snd-cs4231-lib.ko
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 9218 Apr 5 15:40 snd-cs4231.ko
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 17033 Apr 5 15:40 snd-cs4232.ko
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 21090 Apr 5 15:40 snd-cs4236-lib.ko
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 22288 Apr 5 15:40 snd-cs4236.ko
    root@tp770:~ #

    So, it *is* there, why is it not found?
    (Sorry, SuSE user new to Ubuntu)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Purdue University, Indiana
    Beans
    816
    Distro
    Dapper Drake Testing/

    Re: HOWTO: Using ALSA with CS4236 under Hoary

    root@tp770:~ # modprobe snd-cs4236
    FATAL: Error inserting snd_cs4236 (/lib/modules/2.6.10-5-386/kernel/sound/isa/cs423x/snd-cs4236.ko): No such device
    FATAL: Error running install command for snd_cs4236
    Based on that error message, it looks like you don't have the cs4236 sound card in your system. I did a little googling for you, and it seems the thinkpad 770 has a cs4232 sound card, not the cs4236. Try the following:

    Code:
    modprobe snd-cs4232
    If that doesn't work for you, another guide said to try this:

    Code:
    modprobe snd-cs4232 port=0x530 cport=0x538 fm_port=0x388 irq=5 dma1=1 dma2=0
    Good luck.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Düsseldorf/Germany
    Beans
    23

    Re: HOWTO: Using ALSA with CS4236 under Hoary

    Hi Varunus,

    thx for your reply. Accordimnng to my experience it is a 4236, see http://www.axxite.com/brn/en/index.html

    Nevertheless, the result is the same with the 4232, the error message also.

    How can I reconfigure the sound subsystem? something like
    dpkg-reconfigure alsa
    seems not to work....

    Thx again!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Purdue University, Indiana
    Beans
    816
    Distro
    Dapper Drake Testing/

    Re: HOWTO: Using ALSA with CS4236 under Hoary

    Coogor,

    Doing a little more googling, I found someone's experiences with ALSA on the TP 770, and he said he got sound to work by adding the following to /etc/modules.conf:

    #ALSA portion
    alias char-major-116 snd
    alias char-major-14 soundcore

    alias sound-service-0-0 snd-mixer-oss
    alias sound-service-0-1 snd-seq-oss
    alias sound-service-0-3 snd-pcm-css
    alias sound-service-0-8 snd-seq-oss
    alias sound-service-0-12 snd-pcm-oss

    alias sound-slot-0 snd-card-0
    alias sound-slot-1 snd-card-1
    alias sound-slot-2 snd-card-2
    alias sound-slot-3 snd-card-3

    alias sound snd-card-0
    alias snd-card-0 snd-card-cs4236

    alias snd-minor-oss-0 snd-card-cs4236
    alias snd-minor-oss-1 snd-opl3
    alias snd-minor-oss-3 snd-pcm-oss

    options snd snd_major=116 snd_cards_limit=1 \
    snd_device_mode=0660 snd_device_gid=100 snd_device_uid=0


    options snd-card-cs4236 snd_port=0x530 snd_cport=0x538 \
    snd_mpu_port=-1 snd_fm_port=0x388 snd_irq=5 snd_dma1=1 \
    snd_dma2=0 snd_dma1_size=16 snd_dma2_size=16 snd_isapnp=0 \
    snd_index=0 snd_sb_port=0x220

    After doing this, reboot. If that doesn't work, try switching the dma1 and dma2 sections in the last section and rebooting again.

    Another thing to try, a much more desperate measure:
    Ubuntu does not include alsaconf, alsa's built in script based configuration utility. I found a version of alsaconf you can download individually, but its for a slightly older version of alsa. Most likely it'll still work. (It even has a special section for your laptop ) You can download it at http://www.mland.jp/pub/Tips/alsa/alsaconf

    Make sure to make it executable with chmod +x alsaconf, and then run it with sudo.

    Good luck.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Düsseldorf/Germany
    Beans
    23

    Re: HOWTO: Using ALSA with CS4236 under Hoary

    Hi Varunus,

    this config in modules.conf is suitable for the 2.4.x-kernels. In the 2.6.x kernels, it should be slightly different somewhere in /etc/modprobe.d/sound.

    Actually, it was a good idea just to use an existing alsaconf, although the one needs some tweaking to work properly with 5.04. Nevertheles, the customizing was similar to what I tried, it still did not work.

    My impression is that something went terribly wrong when setting up either ubuntu or alsa: There is no /dev/snd at all! I tried to recreate the device nodes using an alsa-script, which did also not result in a working system. (forgot to mention: This laptop was already working under older SuSE versions....including sound)

    Maybe this is now the point to file an issue in bugzilla........

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Purdue University, Indiana
    Beans
    816
    Distro
    Dapper Drake Testing/

    Re: HOWTO: Using ALSA with CS4236 under Hoary

    One more thing to try:

    I found this page that should also work with a Thinkpad 770. They have step by step instructions; the one thing I would look at is whether or not you have "simple boot" enabled in your BIOS. If you do, you can't get sound at all. The instructions on that page seem like they should work; also, if simple boot was enabled, try modprobing again with the irq and dma information.

    EDIT: found another link to try, this one even specifically talks about Ubuntu (halfway down the page they mention the 770)
    http://www.wlug.org.nz/ThinkpadNotes

    Good luck.
    Last edited by varunus; July 4th, 2005 at 08:42 PM.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •