Thread: Ubuntu 17.04 64-bit randomly locks up

Beans

Question Ubuntu 17.04 64-bit randomly locks up

Ubuntu 17.04 randomly locking up

First off I am sorry if this is in the wrong section. I am new to linux. I didn't know if this should be in hardware or installation or new to Ubuntu. So I settled on General Help. If this should be in another section please move it there.

I am trying to build a basic computer that will be a media center. A computer connected to my TV running Ubuntu and Kodi with a couple of hard drives for media (movies, tv shows, music, etc).

The computer has:

new case
    new motherboard: ASRock AB350 Pro4 AM4 ATX AMD Motherboard
    new CPU: AMD Ryzen 3 1200 3.1GHz Quad Core AM4 Boxed Processor with Wraith Stealth Cooler
    new RAM: 2 4GB modules (don't have the exact model with me)
    new HD: Toshiba P300 1TB 7,200 RPM SATA III (for OS)
    new network card: Intel EXPI9301CT Gigabit PCIe X1 Adapter (the one on the motherboard didn't work with the Live USB (no driver))

existing 500 watt power supply
    existing pci2 video card (but I'm not running the proprietary software for it).

I am running Ubuntu 17.04 64-bit.
    I do not have the kernel version with me (I'm at work) but did do a full update this morning (the kernel was updated).

1.5 GB boot partition
    75 GB root partition
    rest of HD (800+ GB) for home partition

I currently have one other hard drive connected. I have disconnected that hard drive (both power and SATA) and the problem still occurs. I will disconnect if necessary if I need to run any tests/scripts/etc.

I don't know if all of that is needed or not but I thought better safe with regards to providing it.

The installation went fine. I have updated everything (including the BIOS for the motherboard). It starts and runs fine for hours. Then it will randomly just lock up. Sometimes I can still move the mouse but clicking opens nothing. When this happens the only resolution is to reboot the machine.