Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Vodafone Webbook ON9

Beans

Vodafone Webbook ON9

Hi there,

I am an IT Technician, I am based in South Africa so I mostly work with Windows. Anything from 98 up to 8.1. Anyway, I got a netbook yesterday that I have to fix with Ubuntu on it. After a day and a half of doing research etc, trying numerous amounts of things, I am completely at a loss. I have no idea how to fix it.

It is a Vodafone Webbook ON9, absolutely terrible. ARM Processor, 512mb RAM, 4GB flash. Not very useful, to me anyway. As far as my research goes, it has Ubuntu 10.04 on it, but I do not know how to confirm this on the webbook itself. Also, there is no DVD-ROM.

The problem is, when it boots, it gets to the login screen, when the user is selected and correct password is typed in, the mouse is shown for a few seconds, and a black screen, and then it shows the login screen again. One simply cannot log in. I think the OS is corrupt. I figured out how to use the terminal, if I press ctrl+alt+F1 at the login screen, I can get to a terminal.

I tried to connect to the internet wirelessly via the terminal, but it just won`t work. There is some kind of driver association failure with the "Wext" driver. Anyway, I tried a lot of things, I can`t get it to connect to the internet, and there isn`t even an ethernet port, so I have no idea what to do. Oh, and to make it even worse, this thing is like a cellphone or a tablet, it doesn`t have a conventional BIOS, I don`t even know how to let it boot from a usb device OR an external DVD-Drive. So I can`t use a LIVE CD. To make it even more worse, I do not even know what Ubuntu version to download, since this thing has an ARM Processor. Even if I did know exactly what Ubuntu to download, I`ve no idea how to reinstall it on this thing.