Thread: Backing up

Beans

Backing up

Hi everyone hope all OK.
    Im still very new to Linux still finding my way around all the commands mine field lol.
    I Wanted to ask because I haven't got a clue.
    I got my ubuntu server up and running ,mounted hard drives and folder will terminal only no gui.
    What I'm after is backing up my windows pc and ubuntu laptop to the ubuntu server.
    But I can't find out how you go about it.
    Had a look on Google and you tube,
    But all I can seem to find is how to back up the server which I not ready to do yet.
    So can I backup my Windows pc to my ubuntu server.
    If so how do I go about it please.
    Best regards tony

currentshaft is offline Oops! My Coffee Cup is empty.
    Beans
    Hidden!

Re: Backing up

Lots of ways to go about it.

You could connect the other computer's hard drive and mount it on your Ubuntu server. This is probably the least convenient or even impossible if you don't host the server in the same location.

You could transfer the files with a network sharing protocol like NFS or Samba. That sometimes requires additional software and probably more suited to a shared network environment with many users.

Personally I would use rsync over SSH, provided your network is capable of handling the network traffic. This gives you strong security and a reliable file syncing mechanism.

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

You are at the point of defining your backup scheme, some very important decisions you are about to make.

When I got to your point, Ubuntu Server, I took a month and read a lot of information on backup concepts, when and how to use them. If you don't have a backup of anything at the moment, perhaps plugging in a USB drive and rsync'ing, or simply copying your important files off of those systems would be a good start while you really figure out what scheme you want to deploy. Get clear on what you want to back up.