Thread: [SOLVED] I need help creating "Stricter defaults" for Ubuntu

Beans

[SOLVED] I need help creating "Stricter defaults" for Ubuntu

Even though my ATI radeon 7500 graphics card does not allow me to enjoy the unholy desktop navigation that compiz offers, I'm still blown away by Ubuntu. From sampling the entire OS through the cd, to being able to USE EVERYTHING (i.e. browse the web) AS it's installing!!! I still can't get over the fact that I don't have to install my router program, update any drivers, upgrade to SP whatever. So many things to appreciate my head's gonna explode... Maybe I'm just easy. I'm a Microsoft user.

Which brings me to this; I've been an xp user all my life and I have no experience whatsoever with any other OS or Linux distro. I'm following this article on tightening default security:

http://www.itsecurity.com/features/u...tall-resource/
    &
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/St...UnsafeDefaults

Now... I can't even do the very first thing they recommend. From my understanding, it's making "shared memory" read only. These are the instructions:

"To change this setting, edit the /etc/fstab file to include the following line:

tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs defaults,ro 0 0"

Huh? Okay, so I searched around but could not find much. I managed to find the terminal. And I managed to find out how to access /etc/fstab with this line: sudo nano /etc/fstab.

Now I'm in what to me looks like a text with lines of codes and comments. Where do I put "tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs defaults,ro 0 0" and how exactly do I save and exit? It says to exit "X^" but I have no idea what that means. I don't plan on asking you guys to help me on every single step in this security guide; tomorrow I'm borrowing an Ubuntu beginners book and I'll learn the ropes but I'd like to "secure" it and experiment until then.

Thank you very much,
    pixarinc.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Re: I need help creating "Stricter defaults" for Ubuntu