Thread: Wifi connection drops after 2-3 hours - Lenovo G580 laptop

Beans

Wifi connection drops after 2-3 hours - Lenovo G580 laptop

Very frustrating issue (which doesn't happen if I boot into Windows), I'm running Ubuntu 22.04, and after about 2 hours my wifi connection dies. Often, when I then disconnect and reconnect it fails on configuring network. if I switch the laptop off and leave it for about 20 minutes it's then fine again, (for another 2 hours or so anyway), but a quick log-off or reboot doesn't always work effectively. Additionally it seems that if I drag the Network menu down from the menu bar and hover my cursor over the connected wifi entry the connection improves somewhat, but this is not consistent. I guess it's probably either a driver problem or a power saving problem (or both), and I've trawled forums and tried various instructions but nothing has worked. Can anyone help with this? (bearing in mind I'm a complete Linux novice, I'm good at following detailed step by step instructions but have no understanding of what I'm doing or why).
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Linux_newbie_no1; 4 Weeks Ago at 07:43 PM.

Beans

Re: Wifi connection drops after 2-3 hours - Lenovo G580 laptop

That is a typical problem with linux distributions, which are computer operating systems composed of primarily free software, and software that empowers users to use computers and technology free of the constraints imposed by their competitors in the operating system world.

Often times there are no good explanations as to why problems occur when using linux, as opposed to windows, where as you say, everything