Thread: can't open windows 10 as dualboot (wrong bootloader)

Beans

Exclamation can't open windows 10 as dualboot (wrong bootloader)

hello ,Im just new to this OS and i know maybe this is a old problem as before , i install ubuntu (dual boot ) together with windows 10 pro , and window 7
    but as i install the bootloader to the windows 10 pro , i cant access the windows 10 pro , please help me to change the bootloader to the window 7 , or help me so i can access
    my windows 10 pro , thank you , power!!!

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu Development Release

Re: can't open windows 10 as dualboot (wrong bootloader)

Thread moved to Installation & Upgrades for a better fit

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu

Can you boot into any of the other OSs and just not Win 10? Anyhow, go here.

Once you have Boot Repair up and running and you're looking at the home GUI, click 'Recommended repair'. When that's all done, reboot the machine. Can you boot all the installs now?

If you can't boot any of the OSs, you can create a Boot Repair USB on another machine and boot from that then run a repair. Good luck.
    Last edited by Bucky Ball; August 14th, 2020 at 02:14 PM.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu

BIOS installs?

Windows on second install, overwrites the first installs boot files in the NTFS partition with boot flag and updated BCD with first install, so Windows can boot either version.

Then grub only finds one set of Windows boot files.

Also grub only boots working Windows, so Windows 10's fast start up must be off and hibernation in both Windows must be off. And Windows 10 will turn fast start up back on with updates.

If all these systems are on one drive in BIOS boot mode with only one MBR for starting booting, Windows 10 has made dual booting a bit more difficult. Better to use UEFI or at least have two drives, to have two MBR.