Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Multiple Python locations? I do not know why they are there?

Beans

Multiple Python locations? I do not know why they are there?

Hello everyone! Sorry for taking up your time.

I'm new to Linux in general. I've only been using it full time within the last month or so.

I've been digging into the my file system and at the same time reading the FHS documentation.

I've come across something that confuses me. I seem to have multiple Python installations. I remember I installed 3.8.2 sometime ago.

I thought that it was the only installation of Python.

Then after snooping around my file system (Ubuntu Budgie) and what I found was the following.

I saw that within the /usr/lib directory I found:
    python2.7
    python3
    python3.8

I did not understand why there were so many. The 2.7 isn't as important to me as much as the python3 and python3.8

when you go inside python3 you find a directory called "dist-packages" with a bunch of modules. I could not find documentation on this directory.

inside of python3.8 it seems to have the standard library modules.

Now if you go into /usr/local/lib you will find the same directory with same files plus a few more that aren't in the previous directory.

I thought that perhaps the python3.8 in the /usr/lib is a symbolic link to /usr/local/lib but when you run a
    Code:
    ls -al
    on the /usr/lib directory

You see that it is its own directory and not a symbolic link.

This in general has me confused because when I run either python3 OR python3.8 I'll get the same python interpreter version.

I don't know which directory the system is really using whenever I run python3 or python3.8

Is there a way for me to see which directory the system uses when I run the python interpreter.?

Also would there be a way for me to remove one of the installations?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

Re: Multiple Python locations? I do not know why they are there?