Thread: Can't share internet to LAN through DHCP server

Beans

Can't share internet to LAN through DHCP server

So I'm new to Ubuntu forums and networking in general. I've asked a few questions on AskUbuntu.com on this topic but for some reason, none of my questions have attracted any responses. This is pretty much a duplicate of my askubuntu question found here.

So here's my problem:

I have 11 computers running Ubuntu 12.04. One computer (I'll refer to this one as prefect), which has two network cards configured, is connected to the internet. The other 10 are connected in a LAN which is connected to the prefect. Currently, the 10 computers in a LAN cannot ping an external IP's but I can ping prefect or any other computer in the LAN. To share the internet through prefect to the LAN clients, I decided to configure a dhcp server on prefect. I've tried a number of different approaches but nothing to seems to work.

This is what I've done so far.

I've edited my /etc/network/interfaces

Code:
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback

auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet dhcp

auto eth1
    iface eth1 inet static
            address 192.168.1.100
            netmask 255.255.255.0
            network 192.168.1.0
            broadcast 192.168.1.255
    Edited my rc.local

Code:
    /sbin/iptables -P FORWARD ACCEPT
    /sbin/iptables --table nat -A POSTROUTING -o eth0 -j MASQUERADE       
    exit 0
    and edited my /etc/dhcp/dhcpd.conf

Code:
    ddns-update-style none;

option domain-name "example.org";
    option domain-name-servers ns1.example.org, ns2.example.org;

default-lease-time 86400;
    max-lease-time 604800;

authoritative;

log-facility local7;

subnet 192.168.1.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 {
            range 192.168.1.1 192.168.1.10;
            option subnet-mask 255.255.255.0;
            option broadcast-address 192.168.1.255;
            option routers 192.168.1.100;
    }
    Some helpful information.

prefect IP: 128.2.218.180
    Client IP's: 192.168.1.1-10