Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 14.04 LTS - some issues

Beans

Question 14.04 LTS - some issues

Hi Guys,

I'm new to Ubuntu and just installed and tested the version stated in the title. I must say I found the media creation, booting and installation process not at all easy. I have it on my K: drive (120GB), whereas Windows is installed on my C: drive.

I've run into some issues though and am wondering if anyone can help?

1) How can I make a boot loader that lets me choose between Win 7 and Ubuntu just after the BIOS screen and before any OS loads?

2) My right speaker doesn't work, only the left works

3) Only analogue sound output works (SB Audigy SE)

4) Webcam comes on when I don't request it

5) Amazon app crashes when I open it - entire OS freezes and I have to reboot

6) My Ubuntu drive has completely disappeared in Windows! (Is this normal?)

Other question:

Is Ubuntu as secure online as Win 7? Do I need another firewall other than the one that comes as standard with Ubuntu?

Thanks for your feedback!

Cheers, Ed

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: 14.04 LTS - some issues

Welcome here. Glad you came.

a) please as only 1 question at a time. Make a good title, so that people with that specific expertise will notice it. Place each individual question into the correct subforum, so that lurkers in those subforums with expertise will notice it. For example, I don't visit the Apple-HW subforum, but hang out in the virtualization subforum, based on my knowledge. Plus I deal with server software much more than desktop software and GUIs.