Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: LaTeX not loading packages such as float, fonts

Beans

LaTeX not loading packages such as float, fonts

Hello Ubuntu People,
    I had an account on these forums but for some reason when I tried to use SSO for the first time entering my email took me to this account. I didn't even choose this username, I have no idea where it came from. This was my old account: http://ubuntuforums.org/member.php?u=720166. Anyway, I spent some time trying to fix it but I am not sure if I even really care.

Anyway, my main problem: I have been using Arch for a few years and moved back over to Ubuntu a couple of months ago. I am using 12.04 LTS because my computer didn't seem to support 12.10 (read about it here, if you're curious). Everything seems to work well except I need to type up a couple of LaTeX documents and have had no luck. On Arch I used LaTeX as my main "word processor" and I used a base document with this code for typing up lab reports:
    Code:
    \documentclass[12pt]{report}
    \usepackage[letterpaper]{geometry}
    \usepackage{amsmath}
    \usepackage{cmbright}
    \usepackage{multicol}
    \usepackage{float}
    \geometry{tmargin=.5in,bmargin=.5in,lmargin=.5in,rmargin=.5in}
    \setlength{\parskip}{\medskipamount}
    \setlength{\parindent}{0pt}
    \begin{document}

document test

\end{document}
    I have always used pdflatex to compile the document into a pdf, which is typically what my professors like to get and is easiest for me to store and print.

The first time I tried it with out of the box Ubuntu, I got an error about "cmbright.sty" being missing. I did some research and learned that my texlive package was hopelessly out of date (it was 2009) so used the instructions here using the backports ppa to get a new version of texlive.