• Other (please explain)

6 11.11%
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: beginning programming/scripting

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

beginning programming/scripting

I'm an information systems major, so i figure i should start learning programming/scripting (what's the difference anyway?)

Should i start with something like PHP, or a more classic programming language like Java?

little to no prior programming experience; i tend to do better with a physical book in my hand...
    what language would you recommend for starting to learn this stuff, and can you think of a title you'd recommend reading to help learn that language?

how hard is Python? is that harder than java? I've noticed a lot of Ubuntu apps use python...

(yes, i know, i'm a newb, but better late than never, right?)

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 22.04 Jammy Jellyfish

Re: beginning programming/scripting

Well, if you wanna get started with the programming stuff, i would suggest you go with C programming language first . . . . most of the object oriented stuffs originated now are from the basics of C programming language... in fact, C++ language is the extension of C programming itself...and so is Java. So i suggest you to start with C. I've just started to learn Python(25 hrs. till now) . . . and having the basic idea of it...dont know much about it...but after learning C programming, i found that C++ is easy to learn( my personal experience).
    Anyways, I learned C from this book "C Programming,A Modern Approach by K.N King" goodluck.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Quote Originally Posted by WinuxUser View Post
    I've just started to learn Python
    Python ftw!
    // Blog

Beans

i would say c, c++ or python are all fine (i love them all), you do need to pick one and focus on it (once you have the concepts other programming languages are easy).