Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Ubuntu 11.04 Won't shut Down Completely

Beans

Ubuntu 11.04 Won't shut Down Completely

Hello to anyone, I'm kind of new to Linux, never used a lot of it. I freshly installed Ubuntu 11.04. After a few hours using it without any problems, installed the updates and installed some programs. I clicked the shut down option and it stay on. Keyboard and mouse shut down but the computer itself y is still powered on and in the monitor stays a purple splash screen of ubuntu. The only way is hitting the power button for fully shutting down.
    I searched and only found older post for version 10.10. I'd tried in the terminal command ¨sudo halt¨ once and everything powered off, powered up to tried it again and didn't work for the second time.

Its really strange because it stop powering the keyboard and mouse but the tower itself is still powered and giving a splash screen.

UPDATE: Is shutting down completely if I press the power button and clic in the option for shutting down. First time some text massage really fast, second time splash screen powering off normally. But somtines do not complete the shut down.

UPDATE2: Reinstalled ubuntu completely. Tested shutting down and almost did it, the 5 little circle under the ubuntu logo only 4 was filled and get stuck in the fifth. Downloaded updates and the shut down was fully normal. Installed the nvidia driver and the shut down is back with problem. It could be the video card?
    Last edited by canfu; June 11th, 2011 at 07:16 AM.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: Ubuntu 11.04 Won't shut Down Completely

Did you check the md5sum before you burned the iso to cd? In the 15+ years I've been using linux I've never had that happen. Hope some one can help ya. I find the linux kernel very stable. Is this the 32bit or 64bit version? One other thing I can suggest is to check you BIOs to see if it's set to auto restart on shutdown.
    Gary
    Linux since 1995, Ubuntu since 2006