Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 26 of 26

Thread: Firefox 3.6.4

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Beans
    4,076
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: Firefox 3.6.4

    Quote Originally Posted by lovinglinux View Post
    Yes, it is. I'm sure firefox was closed. Anyway, I will do some tests and update my extension.

    Thanks.
    yea give it another try... let know how it goes.

    also try command
    Code:
    which firefox
    that'll give you the full path of the command that would be executed if you call 'firefox'.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Beans
    12,497
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Firefox 3.6.4

    Quote Originally Posted by nanotube View Post
    yea give it another try... let know how it goes.

    also try command
    Code:
    which firefox
    that'll give you the full path of the command that would be executed if you call 'firefox'.
    I didn't need to test. I'm using a compiled version of Firefox and it is located at /usr/local/bin. It works indeed.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Beans
    4,076
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: Firefox 3.6.4

    Quote Originally Posted by lovinglinux View Post
    I didn't need to test. I'm using a compiled version of Firefox and it is located at /usr/local/bin. It works indeed.
    cool. must have had an open window of firefox hiding on one of the desktops that one time when it didn't work...

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Beans
    12,497
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Firefox 3.6.4

    Quote Originally Posted by nanotube View Post
    i bet the default version was already opened somewhere, so running it just opened a new window. make sure to completely quit firefox before trying that again?

    basically, look at output of:
    Code:
    echo $PATH
    if /usr/local/bin is first in line, then the firefox in /usr/local/bin WILL take precedence over /usr/bin.
    It only works if I start firefox from terminal. The launchers are still launching the default version. The launchers are the default ones, with a firefox %u command, not a path.

    I'm trying to implement a divertion removal in my extension, but I can't rely on the user being able to start it only via terminal.

    I installed Ubuntuzilla again today, just to see if it is detected and it does create a diversion:

    Adding `diversion of /usr/bin/firefox to /usr/bin/firefox.ubuntu by firefox-mozilla-build'
    What should I do?
    Last edited by lovinglinux; July 19th, 2010 at 11:38 PM.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Beans
    4,076
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: Firefox 3.6.4

    Quote Originally Posted by lovinglinux View Post
    It only works if I start firefox from terminal. The launchers are still launching the default version. The launchers are the default ones, with a firefox %u command, not a path.

    I'm trying to implement a divertion removal in my extension, but I can't rely on the user being able to start it only via terminal.

    I installed Ubuntuzilla again today, just to see if it is detected and it does create a diversion:



    What should I do?
    Local diversions (what used to be done by the script) are different from package diversions (what is being done now)... so it should be fine.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Brazil
    Beans
    12,497
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Firefox 3.6.4

    Quote Originally Posted by nanotube View Post
    Local diversions (what used to be done by the script) are different from package diversions (what is being done now)... so it should be fine.
    What is the difference? I'm using this:

    Code:
    sudo dpkg-divert --divert /usr/bin/firefox.ubuntu --rename /usr/bin/firefox
    Then, symlinking the new firefox from /opt:

    Code:
    sudo ln -s /opt/firefox/firefox /usr/bin/firefox
    I never had any problems with updates.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •