Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 28

Thread: No hardware in sound preferences

  1. #11
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Beans
    6,905
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 15.04 Vivid Vervet

    Re: No hardware in sound preferences

    Quote Originally Posted by Mujaheiden View Post
    We're on 9.10 and have and sound hardware keeps on disapearing.

    $ aplay -l gives
    Code:
    **** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
    card 0: V8235 [VIA 8235], device 0: VIA 8235 [VIA 8235]
      Subdevices: 4/4
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
      Subdevice #1: subdevice #1
      Subdevice #2: subdevice #2
      Subdevice #3: subdevice #3
    card 0: V8235 [VIA 8235], device 1: VIA 8235 [VIA 8235]
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
    card 1: modem [VIA 82XX modem], device 0: VIA 82XX modem [VIA 82XX modem]
      Subdevices: 1/1
      Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

    I have all the suggested applications installed.
    What is the output of this command:
    Code:
    sudo fuser -v /dev/dsp* /dev/snd/* /dev/seq*
    Try this:
    Code:
    rm -r ~/.pulse ~/.asound* 
    sudo rm /etc/asound.conf
    Logout/in.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Beans
    161
    Distro
    Ubuntu Budgie 18.04 Bionic Beaver

    Re: No hardware in sound preferences

    ej my mistake, i was confused by all the audio preset, i initially didnt see the stereo duplex at the bottom of the prests list, so I selected some dolby duplex, which crashed after a few minutes. rebooting and selecting a decent preset makes everything okay. Thanks!

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Beans
    9

    Re: No hardware in sound preferences

    i'm on 10.4 having the same problem, i get a different output for
    aplay -l

    **** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
    ALSA lib conf.c:594get_char_skip_comments) Cannot access file /home/freelan/.asoundrc.asoundconf
    ALSA lib conf.c:1645snd_config_load1) _toplevel_:5:36:No such file or directory
    ALSA lib conf.c:3425snd_config_hook_load) /home/freelan/.asoundrc may be old or corrupted: consider to remove or fix it
    ALSA lib conf.c:3286snd_config_hooks_call) function snd_config_hook_load returned error: No such file or directory
    ALSA lib conf.c:3671snd_config_update_r) hooks failed, removing configuration
    aplay: device_list:232: control open (0): No such file or directory

  4. #14
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Beans
    6,905
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 15.04 Vivid Vervet

    Re: No hardware in sound preferences

    Quote Originally Posted by dfreelan View Post
    i'm on 10.4 having the same problem, i get a different output for
    aplay -l

    **** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
    ALSA lib conf.c:594get_char_skip_comments) Cannot access file /home/freelan/.asoundrc.asoundconf
    ALSA lib conf.c:1645snd_config_load1) _toplevel_:5:36:No such file or directory
    ALSA lib conf.c:3425snd_config_hook_load) /home/freelan/.asoundrc may be old or corrupted: consider to remove or fix it
    ALSA lib conf.c:3286snd_config_hooks_call) function snd_config_hook_load returned error: No such file or directory
    ALSA lib conf.c:3671snd_config_update_r) hooks failed, removing configuration
    aplay: device_list:232: control open (0): No such file or directory
    Try this:
    Code:
    rm -r ~/.pulse ~/.asound* 
    sudo rm /etc/asound.conf
    Logout/in.
    Now run alsa-info script.
    Run this command in a terminal:
    Code:
    wget http://www.alsa-project.org/alsa-info.sh -O alsa-info.sh && bash alsa-info.sh
    Enter your user password when prompted. Choose the upload option and provide a link for the output.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Beans
    9

    Re: No hardware in sound preferences

    Thanks for the help!

    when I run the second remove statement i get
    rm: cannot remove `/etc/asound.conf': No such file or directory

    I should add that previously, i made an attempt to solve the problem, I had reinstalled everything alsa, and pulseaudio that was already installed on my system.

    Error link below
    Link: http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=608f1ba86ba100aae0f608d61edc1042088249db
    Thanks again!

    EDIT: updated link
    Last edited by dfreelan; September 5th, 2010 at 07:00 AM. Reason: update link

  6. #16
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Beans
    6,905
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 15.04 Vivid Vervet

    Re: No hardware in sound preferences

    Use nautilus. Go to ~/ (your home folder) and look for anything starting with .asoundrc and delete it. Now reboot.
    Next. Using a Terminal="Applications->Accessories->Terminal"
    Open this file for editing:
    Code:
     gksudo gedit /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf
    Insert this line at the bottom:
    Code:
     options snd-hda-intel model=ref
    Save. Close. Reboot.
    Check your levels in alsamixer.
    Code:
     alsamixer
    Press <F6> to select the correct soundcard.
    Press <F3> to show playback levels. <F4> selects capture levels [or use <Tab>]
    Use the left/right arrow keys to select and up/down arrow keys to change levels. <M> to mute/unmute.
    Go to "System ->Preferences ->Sound" and make sure the correct soundcard is default and adjust your profile on the hardware tab.
    On the output tab choose the correct device.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Beans
    3

    Re: No hardware in sound preferences

    Quote Originally Posted by lidex View Post
    OK. Update your kernel:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get upgrade
    Now reboot so we can work with the latest kernel.
    Install alsa backports:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install linux-backports-modules-alsa-lucid-generic
    Reboot again.

    Do 'Part A' here:
    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=789578
    I resolved my issue with the code you gave in this post. Thanks!

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Beans
    9

    Re: No hardware in sound preferences

    I followed the instructions, there was no (visible?).soundrc in my home folder (so i don't know why it was looking for it) but i ran rm /home/asound.rc, just to be sure.
    Also i deleted the pulseaudio backup file i stored in there

    I inserted the line of code successfully to the bottom of the file
    went to the alsamixer, it appears everything was on full volume, pressed F3, no playback though...

    in sound preferences nothing was muted, and the hardware existed (and it exists as analog stereo duplex (1 output/1input))yay!!!

    Good news: I can record stuff, the mic input shows it is receiving sound

    However, I still have no playback, tried several sound file types. I tried to change the profile of the selected device to other options, but still no sound.

    I tried to do research to see if i could find someone else who had the same problem, found nothing

    Thanks for the help you have given me!

    I ran that link again in case it's useful
    http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=1f...1a16ae70385749

    (P.S.) since my hardware is now showing up, does this actually qualify as a separate issue?

    EDIT: also, when i insert my logitech headset, the computer freezes...
    Last edited by dfreelan; September 5th, 2010 at 07:16 PM.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Beans
    6,905
    Distro
    Ubuntu Gnome 15.04 Vivid Vervet

    Re: No hardware in sound preferences

    Getting there!
    Run this command:
    Code:
    dpkg -l | grep "alsa"
    If the output shows you have backports installed, please remove it from your system using synaptic. Then follow the alsa upgrade link in my sig to get the full 1.0.23

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Beans
    9

    Re: No hardware in sound preferences

    with the steps followed the mic still works, sound appears to have the same situation

    When i run alsamixer, it doesnt show up in sound preferences under 'applications', however the "sound recorder" does (EDIT): the sound recorder appears both when recording and when playing what it recorded. Alsamixer shows my card is the one being used

    let me know if you can still help or if u can direct me where to go
    Thanks again!

    (here's the up to date link if it helps)
    http://www.alsa-project.org/db/?f=4c...c1117850d7b180

    EDIT: same problem is resent with logitech headphones, except the computer never completely freezes. justs slows down to the point where nothing opens. Mouse remains active... i dont know if this helps at all >.<

    I REALLY appreciate all help

    EDIT: next post has more information
    Last edited by dfreelan; September 6th, 2010 at 06:25 AM.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •