Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: External ntfs HD not mounted

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Vipperød, Denmark
    Beans
    63
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    External ntfs HD not mounted

    I've just installed 8.10 (fresh install), and have problems mounting my external HD. In 7.10, I just pluged it in, and it was mounted right away. In 8.10 when I plug it in, the 'active' light on the HD stays on, and it makes not-so-comfortable sounds every now and then.

    lsusb give me this result:
    Code:
    Bus 004 Device 002: ID 046d:c503 Logitech, Inc. Cordless Mouse+Keyboard Receiver
    Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 002 Device 002: ID 046d:c501 Logitech, Inc. Cordless Mouse Receiver
    Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
    Bus 001 Device 008: ID 0d49:5020 Maxtor Mobile Hard Disk Drive
    Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
    The drive is seen as Device 008.

    sudo fdisk -l dosen't show the drive at all.

    I thought about force mounting it, but how do I do that, when I can't see the 'name' (sdb1 or something)?

    Otherwise the usb connections works fine (tried with a usb pen - no problems).

    The HD works fine in windows, and I made sure to safely remove it, in order not to damage the NTFS journal
    P4 2.4GHz, 1 Gb RAM, nVidia FX5200, Jaunty

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Williams Lake
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: External ntfs HD not mounted

    In a Applications-->Accessories-->Terminal type:

    Code:
    dmesg | tail -n 10
    When you plug your external drive in, this will give you an indication of what drive to mount manually. the above command will print out the last ten lines of dmesg.

    Jim

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Vipperød, Denmark
    Beans
    63
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: External ntfs HD not mounted

    Code:
    :~$ dmesg | tail -n 10
    [  342.724536] sd 2:0:0:0: [sdb] Sense Key : No Sense [current] 
    [  342.724551] sd 2:0:0:0: [sdb] Add. Sense: No additional sense information
    [  344.013446] sd 2:0:0:0: [sdb] Sense Key : No Sense [current] 
    [  344.013460] sd 2:0:0:0: [sdb] Add. Sense: No additional sense information
    [  345.219393] sd 2:0:0:0: [sdb] Sense Key : No Sense [current] 
    [  345.219407] sd 2:0:0:0: [sdb] Add. Sense: No additional sense information
    [  346.400460] sd 2:0:0:0: [sdb] Sense Key : No Sense [current] 
    [  346.400474] sd 2:0:0:0: [sdb] Add. Sense: No additional sense information
    [  347.573159] sd 2:0:0:0: [sdb] Sense Key : No Sense [current] 
    [  347.573172] sd 2:0:0:0: [sdb] Add. Sense: No additional sense information
    does this mean it is sdb? Can I now
    Code:
    sudo mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/sdb /media/sdb1 -o force
    Is it the correct switches?

    Btw. if I leave the HD pluged in, then I'll hang at boot. Hopefully just because it is not recognized.
    P4 2.4GHz, 1 Gb RAM, nVidia FX5200, Jaunty

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Vipperød, Denmark
    Beans
    63
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: External ntfs HD not mounted

    hmmmmm..... have found tons of threads about this issue, but no answers. Is this a bug in kernel 2.6.27-9?
    P4 2.4GHz, 1 Gb RAM, nVidia FX5200, Jaunty

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Beans
    224

    Re: External ntfs HD not mounted

    when you originally formated the drive did you use windows, if you did was it mounted as primary drive or extended drive, as I don't think that you can see a windows formated extended ntfs drive in Ubuntu, you need to format it as a primary drive.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Vipperød, Denmark
    Beans
    63
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

    Re: External ntfs HD not mounted

    I've not formated it myself (used device). But it's not the drive thats the problem. I used it with 7.10 without any problems.
    P4 2.4GHz, 1 Gb RAM, nVidia FX5200, Jaunty

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •