Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: I think that Ubuntu should eventually switch to pacman instead of apt.

Beans

Wink I think that Ubuntu should eventually switch to pacman instead of apt.

Before I get started, let me state that I know Ubuntu probably never will switch due to the shear number of packages it has made into debs, but I thought I would post it anyway since its been going through my head a lot recently. Also, let me tell you this is not about Ubuntu becoming rolling release or being based on Arch or anything like that. Its just about the package manager Arch uses, and is just my personal opinion.

I have used Ubuntu since March of last year. I have tried several times to make packages, but its all in vain. Debian packaging is very complicated, and each time I try I have something to wrong somewhere. I have learned to get by through hoping others would make packages for me since it was very hard to make my own.

I have been using Arch for a few months now, and have come to appreciate how easy it is to build packages. I can make my own PKGBUILDs using a simple template and my knowlege of how to compile programs, then install them from the .pkg.tar.gz which is generated. In Debian packaging, I would have to deal with complicated stuff such as fakeroot and such, and trying to get it to compile how debian wanted it was a hassle. The debs that were generated were also painless to install though.

The power of pacman comes from how easy everything is though. There are tons of unsupported packages for Arch in AUR (I can say if you include these packages the amount of programs packaged for Arch rivals that of Ubuntu), and it is easy to install these using yaourt, which automates everything for you. The AUR is kind of like Ubuntu's universe and multiverse repository, where the majority of Ubuntu's packages are.