Thread: Give root password for maintenance (or type Control-D for normal startup):

Beans

Question Give root password for maintenance (or type Control-D for normal startup):

Well, thats it...

After scan disk this message appears:
    "Give root password for maintenance
    (or type Control-D for normal startup):"
    But my normal login don't work.

I must do manual fsck in maintenance mode and the root files system must be mounted in read-only mode.

The problem is duplicate blocks or something like that...

Please, help me!
    I am not an expert in this kind of stuff...

: (

I have Ubuntu installed but some months later I installed Ubuntu Studio upon it...

Must I create an specific root password for maintenance in order to enter the maintenance shell?

How to do that in a straight way as the error message just appears after the scan disk attempt in the startup?
    Last edited by NeoAndersen; November 27th, 2008 at 07:58 PM.

Beans

Angry Re: Give root password for maintenance (or type Control-D for normal startup):

Hello
    I still need help with this problem. There are 2 months that I have to click on Esc to skip the scan disk that always start automatically on the start up...

Then I ask again:
    How to create such root password for maintenance?
    How to do this scan disk manually?
    Will this solve my problem?
    What are the risks of lose data?

Beans
    Hidden!

Re: Give root password for maintenance (or type Control-D for normal startup):

• back up your data
    • boot a Live CD
    • unmount the partition (if it's mounted):
      Code:
      sudo umount /dev/sdXY
      replace /dev/sdXY with the partition(e.g. /dev/sda1).
    • check the file system:
      Code:
      sudo e2fsck -C0 -p -f -v /dev/sdXY
    • if that file system check finds something it can't fix automatically:
      Code:
      sudo e2fsck -f -y -v /dev/sdXY

oh, you can do it with gparted(gui):
    Code:
    gksu gparted