Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Can't configure nic

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Bournemouth UK
    Beans
    254
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Can't configure nic

    Hi, I have 2 NIC's. eth1 connects to my cable dsl and works fine, I can surf the web. eth0 connects to my LAN. I've installed Firestarter, but it says device eth0 is not ready. It says I need to check device settings and make sure my internet connection is active.
    Network Configuration doesn't help either?

    Thank you,
    Mike

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    /home/users/Brazil
    Beans
    39

    Re: Can't configure nic

    Do you really need Firestarter? I mean, it´s a gui, but you can do IP masquerading without installing anything:
    http://en.tldp.org/HOWTO/IP-Masquerade-HOWTO/

    Anyway, maybe you might check this forum: http://www.linuxquestions.org/questi...router-319188/
    It may give you a way to go..
    (I´ve found tons of answers while googling "firestarter eth device not ready")
    Compaq Athlon 64 x2 Vista Home/Ubuntu Hardy and
    PC ASUS P4P800E Deluxe XP Prof. /Kubuntu 7.04

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Bournemouth UK
    Beans
    254
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: Can't configure nic

    Hi, I can't believe everything is so complicated? Why do you need to type in all that just to do a Masquerade, in M$XP all I did was tick the shar e this connection with other computers on the internet connected card, aand job done. Why should it be so hard in Linux?

    Mike

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Bournemouth UK
    Beans
    254
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: Can't configure nic

    Tried Masquerade, nothing happens???

    Mike

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Bournemouth UK
    Beans
    254
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: Can't configure nic

    Anyone, please?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Bournemouth UK
    Beans
    254
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

    Re: Can't configure nic

    Where's everyone gone??????????????????????????????

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Mount Horeb, WI
    Beans
    4,312
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: Can't configure nic

    I was thinking that you had to assign an ip address for eth0. Did you do that already? I could be wrong about this though (It might apply to dhcp3-server--I can't remember).

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •