Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: how to auto start a script on another screen

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Beans
    594

    how to auto start a script on another screen

    I need to start this conky file automatically on screen 1

    conky -c /usr/share/conkyforecast/example/conkyrc &

    My main screen is screen 0 my second screen is screen 1

    So when i reboot the computer i want that script to run on the second panel

    using intrepid running 2 monitors as seperate x screens
    amd 4-core cpu,dual geforce gts 450 in sli mode, 8 gigs of ram. / on 80 ssd drive, home on a 1tb sata drive, 4 tb sata drives for storage

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    40.31996,-80.607213
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: how to auto start a script on another screen

    Quote Originally Posted by lime4x4 View Post
    I need to start this conky file automatically on screen 1

    conky -c /usr/share/conkyforecast/example/conkyrc &

    My main screen is screen 0 my second screen is screen 1

    So when i reboot the computer i want that script to run on the second panel

    using intrepid running 2 monitors as seperate x screens
    Try:
    Code:
    export DISPLAY=:1 && conky -c /usr/share/conkyforecast/example/conkyrc &
    "Security lies within the user of who runs the system. Think smart, live safe." - Dr Small
    Linux User #441960 | Wiki: DrSmall

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Romania
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: how to auto start a script on another screen

    try:
    Code:
    DISPLAY=:0.1 conky -c /usr/share/conkyforecast/example/conkyrc &

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    40.31996,-80.607213
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: how to auto start a script on another screen

    Quote Originally Posted by sisco311 View Post
    try:
    Code:
    DISPLAY=:0.1 conky -c /usr/share/conkyforecast/example/conkyrc &
    Why is the display 0.1? I thought it would have been :1
    "Security lies within the user of who runs the system. Think smart, live safe." - Dr Small
    Linux User #441960 | Wiki: DrSmall

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Beans
    594

    Re: how to auto start a script on another screen

    thanks if i run that command in a terminal it works.
    but if i add that command to my start session it doesn't run
    amd 4-core cpu,dual geforce gts 450 in sli mode, 8 gigs of ram. / on 80 ssd drive, home on a 1tb sata drive, 4 tb sata drives for storage

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Romania
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: how to auto start a script on another screen

    Quote Originally Posted by Dr Small View Post
    Why is the display 0.1? I thought it would have been :1
    i don't know why, but the DISPLAY variable is set to :0.1 on my second screen.
    Code:
    echo $DISPLAY
    :0.1

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •