Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Creating Transitioning Wallpaper Program.. anyone want to help out?

Beans

Lightbulb Creating Transitioning Wallpaper Program.. anyone want to help out?

Hello,

So currently there's no good wallpaper transitioning program out there for Ubuntu. For some time apple has been able to do this, but Linux hasn't. There are plenty of wallpaper changers, but none of them can make a smooth transition. So I thought to myself, why don't I make one. Right now I have a lot of experience in Java and a fair amount in C. If someone could point me in the direction of some good references to read up on for Images and GUI for Linux that would be nice.

Also I'm looking for people who are also interested in doing this as well. The more people that can join in, the better. Feel free to join in. I'll probably have the least experience in the group, so feel free to lead once we can get a group started on this.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Re: Creating Transitioning Wallpaper Program.. anyone want to help out?

Any simple python work that you need I could do. But when i say simple i mean simple, lol, i dont have much knowledge nor experience but I can always research things i dont know.
    computer-howto
    Linux is not windows
    Fluxbox & Flux menu how to
    Programming is an art. Learn it, Live it, Love it!

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope

Hi,

The major problem you'll find when trying to do desktop wallpaper transitions is that Gnome doesn't support anything other than static background. It also creates a flicker when switching static files, so simply quickly switching between pre-rendered images for a transition is out.

Your best bet to implementing this is to use xwinwrap and then create a simple opengl program that fades between to static images.