Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Networking two computers with the same username?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Jaunty Jackalope (testing)

Question Networking two computers with the same username?

I'm trying to share folders over a router on my desktop (Ubuntu 8.10) and my laptop (Ubuntu-Mobile). The desktop username and the laptop username are the same (e.g. johndoe), will this be a problem.

I've already tried NFS, and it didn't work using a tutorial I found at mybeNi.

Would Samba work better? or is there something with a GUI that would be easier?

Thanks for any help.

Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: Networking two computers with the same username?

NFS is a lot easier to setup than samba, try this howto:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=249889

You can set up each computer to be a server and a client.

Jim

Beans
    Distro

Isn't there something easier? I'm new to Linux and the only networking experience I have is with Windows and in Linux with Hamachi + Samba. I tried the instructions at the above recommended link, but I don't know:

a) what my servername is.
    b) what my domain name is.
    c) what "/files" is referring to (I just want to share my entire /home folder from my desktop with my laptop).

Beans

I am running 5 linux machines, mix of UBUNTU 8.04 and 8.1. Using the same user name on all, just different netbios machine names. Not a problem. My shares are done in SAMBA since there are also 5 Windows machines on my home network. Never had a problem.

Good Luck, Mike

Beans

Sorry, forgot the second part. Install the SAMBA GUI and it is very easy to configure.

Mike

Beans
    Distro

Quote Originally Posted by k9fe View Post
    Sorry, forgot the second part. Install the SAMBA GUI and it is very easy to configure.

Mike
    I'm looking through Synaptic now and I don't see a Samba GUI. Does it have a different name, or do I need to go to Samba's website to get it?

Thanks

Beans
    Distro