Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Upgrading from 8.4.1 to 8.10

Beans

Upgrading from 8.4.1 to 8.10

I've never done a release upgrade before. I want to upgrade tomorrow and am wondering what sort of problems I might expect. If I've hand edited configuration files, such as to get my Acer Aspire one wifi working, will they be overwritten with new ones, or left untouched. If the latter, what if configuration files need to be updated for 8.10 apps/features to work.

I have two installations - the Acer one, and my main desktop PC. The latter is a regular PC without wifi. I've upgraded some of the apps on it, such as OpenOffice and VLC. Should I uninstall apps in preparation, or should I leave them?

Perhaps I worry too much, but I'm used to Windows, and in the past I've just wiped out the OS and installed the new one from scratch, but Linux seems to be much smoother in terms of installation/upgrades so I thought I'd give the regular updater a chance first.

Thanks for any help.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

Re: Upgrading from 8.4.1 to 8.10

Actually,it's recommended to do a clean install rather than do a distribution upgrade.If you have a separate /home partition,your personal settings shall be saved,but any editing of config files(may / may not be required in the new version,after all the kernel is new and might support your Wifi etc out of the box),if required,will have to be redone.This is true whether you clean install or allow the updater to do it's job.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Intrepid Ibex (testing)

Wink Re: Upgrading from 8.4.1 to 8.10

Quote Originally Posted by poldie View Post