Thread: Several problems with FSC Amilo Xa 1526

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

Angry Several problems with FSC Amilo Xa 1526

Hi people!

Since I was tired of Windows not working properly with my notebooks WLAN adapter I chose to switched to Ubuntu, which I had been using for a while as second system for testing purposes. Fixed one problem, revealed several others... To be clear: I'm quite new to Linux but willing to learn as much as possible, so please excuse inaccurate reports!

1. The cooling fan is always running - almost ...

This is the most strange behavior I've ever seen in an OS. The cooling fan installed in the system is running constantly and seems not to be recognized by the acpi, at least running acpi -V suggests that. Here's the kicker: After suspending and resuming the fan stays quiet and starts working as intended. What's even more interesting, after running the processor at maximum speed and load for a while also "cures" it, i.e. after running a pretty time consuming custom build of a piece of software like WINE. After doing the two steps mentioned above acpi -V reports the fan correctly and thermal triggering works as intended.

What's going on?

2. The Brightness can't be adjusted

Regarding this I'm quite lost. The hot keys aren't working, nor does the brightness applet or anything else, suggesting that the necessary devices aren't recognized properly. I installed xbacklight hoping to be able to adjust the brigtness with it. No success.

Any ideas?

3. Integrated "subwoofer" isn't working

The notebook was designed to a multimedia platform, providing several components to enhance media experience. This includes a more sophisticated sound system providing some kind of low frequency speaker at the bottom of the case. The front speakers are addressed correctly by ALSA, the third speaker is not and isn't even reported as a channel. How do I address this speaker?