Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 46

Thread: Ubuntu server for our company?

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    26

    Re: Ubuntu server for our company?

    I only want a gui so I can set everything up, Ideally I'd like to setup everything in the gui and then close down the gui and leave it running in cli. I'm in the gui now but cannot find any of the server apps anyway so is it not possible to do it this way?

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Olympia, Washington
    Beans
    548
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Ubuntu server for our company?

    I installed the Server edition and then added ubuntu-desktop via terminal. Although a server is better off with non-gui, I also use my server as my home box. It has to multi-task! Anyways, I was new to servers as of April '08, but the learning curve is not all that bad.

    You have to go into Synaptic Package Manager (or terminal) and check the appropriate boxes for Apache, MySQL, PhpMyAdmin, PHP5, etc... Quite simple through synaptic pkg mgr.
    Last edited by R.Bucky; October 26th, 2008 at 06:12 PM.
    ~Mark
    http://nwlinux.com - tech blog

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Switzerland
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu Jaunty Jackalope (testing)

    Re: Ubuntu server for our company?

    you don't have graphical tools to setup all those different server... a gui is useless in that regard.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Olympia, Washington
    Beans
    548
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Ubuntu server for our company?

    sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop
    ~Mark
    http://nwlinux.com - tech blog

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    26

    Re: Ubuntu server for our company?

    ah ok, so even if the ubuntu desktop is installed as said above, there is no gui for the server apps anyways. Hmm, this is going to be a hell of alot harder to do than I thought.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Beans
    149

    Re: Ubuntu server for our company?

    There's quite a lot to learn if you are coming from a point and click environment. You could try something like ebox http://ebox-platform.com/ to get you started and think about going it alone when you've worked through the various systems. I believe it is in the Ubuntu repos.

    Keith

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    26

    Re: Ubuntu server for our company?

    I might just reinstall again without the ubuntu-desktop in that case. By the sounds of it ebox just allows easy configuration of the server apps on ubuntu, it doesn't actually dumb it down and lose features does it?

    I'd love to learn the cli, but granted I wanted to set the server up to be DNS, samba, alfresco server...etc I honestly don't know where to start.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Olympia, Washington
    Beans
    548
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Ubuntu server for our company?

    Webmin and PhpMyAdmin are as GUI as you are going to get in terms of editing, configuring, and backups. Again, you would need to have a GUI system installed instead of command line.
    ~Mark
    http://nwlinux.com - tech blog

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Beans
    26

    Re: Ubuntu server for our company?

    so is it worth leaving the setup as I have it at the moment ie with ubuntu-desktop installed over ubuntu server and installing the mentionned webmin, phpmyadmin and/or ebox or would it be better performance and generally better in the long run to just have command line and run said applications over the network? Sorry if I'm asking silly questions and stuff I just want to make sure I do this right the first time around so I don't have problems in the future that could have been really easily avoided.

    Cheers again everyone for the great help

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    North Ga
    Beans
    7
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Ubuntu server for our company?

    On most servers ive administered I use webmin and do not install a GUI. I simple use a browser on a networked computer to administer the server. In fact, I dont even have input devices or a monitor on the servers once they are running except for when hardware fails.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •