Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Linux Equalizer

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    digital_world:://home
    Beans
    303

    Linux Equalizer

    Is there a GENERAL Linux equalizer out there?

    What I mean by general is that the equalizer is not application-specific.

    And also, what I mean by equalizer is something like the level of Realtek... something like that.
    Quote Originally Posted by ushimitsudoki View Post
    Fixing Bug #1 doesn't mean becoming Bug #1. We need to improve Linux, not clone Windows.
    Windows sucks. Linux rocks!
    Minsan, masaya rin kung hindi ka naiintindihan ng iba. Go multilinguals!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat

    Re: Linux Equalizer

    If there is, I havn't found it. I really want one too...
    First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you win ~ Mahatma Gandhi

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Beans
    450

    Re: Linux Equalizer

    Hi,
    I've found a thread out there which is kinda what you are looking for.

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=789578

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    digital_world:://home
    Beans
    303

    Re: Linux Equalizer

    Thank you very much!

    It IS a long post.. maybe I'll check it again later. But thank you very much for the link!
    Quote Originally Posted by ushimitsudoki View Post
    Fixing Bug #1 doesn't mean becoming Bug #1. We need to improve Linux, not clone Windows.
    Windows sucks. Linux rocks!
    Minsan, masaya rin kung hindi ka naiintindihan ng iba. Go multilinguals!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Beans
    1

    Re: Linux Equalizer

    Hi, if you dont want to use PulseAudio you can use caps wich is a small ladspa plugin. Select alsa in your sound preference as a playback device for sound and movies.
    install caps
    create the alsa config file if you dont have one in your home dir ( .asoundrc) and put the values of your preference. see the example below


    pcm.!default {
    type plug
    slave.pcm "equalized";
    }

    pcm.equalized {
    type ladspa
    slave.pcm "plug:dmix";
    path "/usr/lib/ladspa";
    plugins [
    { # Eq
    id 2594
    input {
    controls [ 5 6 3 -7 -6 -3 -2 3 7 5 ]
    }
    }
    { # ToneStackLT
    id 2590
    controls [ 4 -3 -4 4 ]
    }
    ]
    }
    Check out the caps site for more options. By the way im using Hardy

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    4

    Re: Linux Equalizer

    Anyone still needing something like this. Take a look at this thread. The EQ *PLUGIN* for pulse is great:

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1308838

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    digital_world:://home
    Beans
    303

    Re: Linux Equalizer

    Quote Originally Posted by WebDawg View Post
    Anyone still needing something like this. Take a look at this thread. The EQ *PLUGIN* for pulse is great:

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1308838
    Thanks for getting my attention to this thread. I really appreciate it.
    Quote Originally Posted by ushimitsudoki View Post
    Fixing Bug #1 doesn't mean becoming Bug #1. We need to improve Linux, not clone Windows.
    Windows sucks. Linux rocks!
    Minsan, masaya rin kung hindi ka naiintindihan ng iba. Go multilinguals!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Beans
    3

    Re: Linux Equalizer

    Well, first, does pulseaudio-equalizer work ok for u? When I use it changing the volume really jerks.

    Second, it uses too much of the processor and when I start the internet browser f.e., the sound playback stops for several seconds. However, my EeePC is really weak, that's why I'd like to know if u all are facing the same problem or not.

    Like this, the eq is unusable for me...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Lancaster, PA
    Beans
    1,334
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Linux Equalizer

    Try this.

    Open a terminal (Applications>Accessories>Terminal) and type
    Code:
    alsamixer
    See if that fits your needs. Im not quite sure of the functionality youre looking for.
    Java Guide Media support Flash x64 Grub2 Get Dropbox! My Look! RSync Twitter

    "Windows 7 was my idea"- I guess Microsoft enjoys copyright infringement?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •