Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Launching FireFox remotely

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    5

    Launching FireFox remotely

    Whenever im logged into my Ubutu Desktop at home remotely from work i cannot seem to launch Firefox by clicking on any of the shortcuts.

    Seems the only thing that lets me lauch it is by opening a command windown and typing "sudo firefox"

    When im at home, link works just fine


    What can i do to fix this?


    FYI Im running the following:
    Firefox 3.5.8
    Ubuntu 9.10

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    29

    Re: Launching FireFox remotely

    What happens if you try

    Code:
    firefox
    from the command line?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Colorado, United States
    Beans
    266
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Launching FireFox remotely

    Quote Originally Posted by metpage View Post
    Whenever im logged into my Ubutu Desktop at home remotely from work i cannot seem to launch Firefox by clicking on any of the shortcuts.

    Seems the only thing that lets me lauch it is by opening a command windown and typing "sudo firefox"

    When im at home, link works just fine


    What can i do to fix this?


    FYI Im running the following:
    Firefox 3.5.8
    Ubuntu 9.10
    If you are running it remotely, how did you set it up so that you just click a launcher? The way I run programs remotely is:
    Code:
    $ ssh yyy.yyy.y.yyy
    <password>
    $ csh
    % setenv DISPLAY xxx.xxx.x.xxx:0.0
    % firefox
    xxx.xxx.x.xxx being the ip address of the local computer and yyy.yyy.y.yyy being the ip address of the computer you are connecting to remotely.
    Could you paste the code that you put in the launcher?
    Last edited by Bradj47; March 3rd, 2010 at 10:08 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    29

    Re: Launching FireFox remotely

    @ Bradj47
    Unless I completely misunderstood the OP's post, it looks like he is trying to log in via vncviewer. If this is not the case, could the OP give more details as to the setup and the software in question?

    Josh

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Montana
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: Launching FireFox remotely

    Firefox is a funny application that way.

    Are you using ssh ? VNC over ssh ?

    When using ssh -X you need the -no-remote option.

    Code:
    firefox -no-remote
    It would also help if you start firefox in a terminal and post any error messages you may get.
    There are two mistakes one can make along the road to truth...not going all the way, and not starting.
    --Prince Gautama Siddharta

    #ubuntuforums web interface

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    5

    Re: Launching FireFox remotely

    OK i'm using a WinXP machine from work and connecting to my home computer via NX Client.

    Using the command line and type "firefox" it just hangs

    Only way i can get it to run is if i type "sudo firefox"

    when i login and click the link to launch firefox it proceeds to launch then disappears (get the "starting firefox web browser" on the task bar then it goes away).

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Montana
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: Launching FireFox remotely

    Quote Originally Posted by metpage View Post
    OK i'm using a WinXP machine from work and connecting to my home computer via NX Client.

    Using the command line and type "firefox" it just hangs

    Only way i can get it to run is if i type "sudo firefox"

    when i login and click the link to launch firefox it proceeds to launch then disappears (get the "starting firefox web browser" on the task bar then it goes away).
    Try

    Code:
    firefox -no-remote
    If that works we can make a custom launcher.
    There are two mistakes one can make along the road to truth...not going all the way, and not starting.
    --Prince Gautama Siddharta

    #ubuntuforums web interface

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Beans
    5

    Re: Launching FireFox remotely

    hmm just tried that and it didn't do anything, it still hangs

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Montana
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu Development Release

    Re: Launching FireFox remotely

    Not sure why it hangs. Does it work when you are in front of the box (without connecting from remote ?).

    Perhaps it is a corrupt profile ?

    You can try starting firefox either with a new profile or in safe mode.

    Code:
    firefox -P
    There are two mistakes one can make along the road to truth...not going all the way, and not starting.
    --Prince Gautama Siddharta

    #ubuntuforums web interface

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •