Thread: HOW TO: Run Lineage II (2nd throne) on Ubuntu Hardy

Beans

Post HOW TO: Run Lineage II (2nd throne) on Ubuntu Hardy

I'm new to Linux, and all the things I had problems, or to be more accurate, didn't knew how to do, I was able to do it with the help of this forum, so I want to give something back by sharing with anyone who might need it, this guide

This guide is intended to be used with a l2j server. If you don't have one, I will recommend you L2WorldUk.

What you will need:
    • Lineage installer (well, duh)
    • This dll files: dpmodemx.dll, dpnet.dll, dpwsock.dll, dpwsockx.dll (From any working Windows installation or download from internet). This will update DirectX; dont install DirectX from a windows installer, wine doesnt need it (Thanks to eledh!).
    • Make sure your video card drivers are properly installed.
    • Other things that may help you to make Wine run better, read this great guide by cogadh.

How to do it:
    1.- Install Wine latest version, following this instructions.

2.- Install Lineage and update it; it will ask you to install a plugin for FF, to display html, accept it.

3.- Run command winecfg to open the wine configuration window. On applications add l2.exe and LineageII.exe and set them both to run as Windows XP (You may try with Windows Vista as well).

4.- Add the DLL files to wine's windows/system32 folder.

5.- Download this modified system folder (l2j servers dont need that, but it's necessary to make L2 run on linux). (Thanks to this guide). If the download doesn't work, let me know and I'll try to upload it somewhere else.

6.- Rename your lineage system folder (Don't delete it, you should save it as backup or to use it when updating the game).

7.- Unpack the file you just downloaded it to Lineage II folder to replace the system folder you just renamed (if you just overwrite your old system folder, it wont work).