Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Samba. Cannot delete files on network share, yet 777 rights were granted.

Beans

Samba. Cannot delete files on network share, yet 777 rights were granted.

I have a Samba setup here. Everybody writes to my desktop as a means of backing up files.

My brother is unable to delete files in his share. He gets "make sure the disk is not full or write-protected and that the file is not currently in use."

I granted 777 rights to his folder. Why the hell is it denied? What can I look for? I thought sudo chmod 777 to his folder was all I'd need to do to give him full blown access.

Beans

Re: Samba. Cannot delete files on network share, yet 777 rights were granted.

There are separate permissions for the share. They are applied over the actual permissions of the directory in the filesystem. So the directories permissions on your computer represent he most lenient permissions possible, however when you create the share you can limit them further (but not reduce them).

To edit the permissions of the share you need to look in /etc/samba/smb.conf or I'm pretty sure Ubuntu has a nice GUI for doing it.
    Disclaimer: All of my advice is guaranteed without exception to work. If you find my advice unsatisfactory, you didn't do it right.

Beans

Where in smb.conf? I'm looking all over the entire config file and I see nothing relevant to what I need.

Only thing I see is simply

Browseable = yes
    Writable = yes

djfaklsjdl;kfsa

Beans

Let me just be a little more descriptive here since I'm about to hit the sack for the night.

I set up Samba. My brother has a share on my computer. It's mapped on his XP computer. I noticed he had his backup kind of sloppy, as far as how things were organized. I went to move everything to a folder and delete everything else, and it said access denied. It won't let me delete anything.

So I thought I'd try in the GUI of my Ubuntu machine. Nope. Still can't.