Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: Heron wireless - can ping but no internet

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Beans
    14

    Heron wireless - can ping but no internet

    I have a netgear dg834t and a wireless card in my laptop that I've set up in Heron using ndiswrapper. Everything looks fine, I can ping the router, and the router can ping the laptop. But I can't get an internet connection? The laptop dual boots into xp where the internet access is ok.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Beans
    754
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: Heron wireless - can ping but no internet

    First thing I think of would be to check to see if it's your DNS information. Where does Windows get it? Does your router give it to you over DHCP?

    The simplest way to verify that this is the problem, and not something else, is to try and ping something by IP on the internet, say, one of google's server farms.
    Hate fighting with Linux? Buy Preinstalled!
    Love fighting with Linux? Try Gentoo!
    __________________________________________________
    Unanswered Posts Team || Connection problems?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Beans
    14

    Re: Heron wireless - can ping but no internet

    Quote Originally Posted by nixscripter View Post
    First thing I think of would be to check to see if it's your DNS information. Where does Windows get it? Does your router give it to you over DHCP?

    The simplest way to verify that this is the problem, and not something else, is to try and ping something by IP on the internet, say, one of google's server farms.
    Thanks for trying to help out. I'm new to all this so I do have understandable ignorance!

    I've ping'd the ip address of google.com via a terminal, but no luck: 'Network is unreachable' is the response.

    The browser just says 'Address not found' when looking for www.google.com.

    Commands output:
    smejltd@smejltd-laptop:~$ ifconfig -a
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:a0:d1:c2:e2:02
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    Interrupt:5 Base address:0xcd00

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:2188 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:2188 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:112604 (109.9 KB) TX bytes:112604 (109.9 KB)

    wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0d:f0:45:51:6d
    inet addr:192.168.0.1 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)


    smejltd@smejltd-laptop:~$ route -n
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
    192.168.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 wlan0

    smejltd@smejltd-laptop:~$ iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    wlan0 IEEE 802.11g ESSIDff/any
    Mode:Auto Frequency:2.407 GHz Access Point: Not-Associated
    Bit Rate:1 Mb/s Tx-Power:-2147483648 dBm
    RTS thr:2347 B Fragment thr:2346 B
    Power Managementff
    Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0


    smejltd@smejltd-laptop:~$ lspci
    00:01.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] CS5536 [Geode companion] Host Bridge (rev 31)
    00:01.1 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Geode LX Video
    00:01.2 Entertainment encryption device: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Geode LX AES Security Block
    00:0c.0 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCIxx12 Cardbus Controller
    00:0c.2 Mass storage controller: Texas Instruments 5-in-1 Multimedia Card Reader (SD/MMC/MS/MS PRO/xD)
    00:0c.3 SD Host controller: Texas Instruments PCIxx12 SDA Standard Compliant SD Host Controller
    00:0d.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
    00:0f.0 ISA bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] CS5536 [Geode companion] ISA (rev 03)
    00:0f.2 IDE interface: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] CS5536 [Geode companion] IDE (rev 01)
    00:0f.3 Multimedia audio controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] CS5536 [Geode companion] Audio (rev 01)
    00:0f.4 USB Controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] CS5536 [Geode companion] OHC (rev 02)
    00:0f.5 USB Controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] CS5536 [Geode companion] EHC (rev 02)

    smejltd@smejltd-laptop:~$

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Beans
    14

    Re: Heron wireless - can ping but no internet

    Also, windows uses dhcp but if I use that with heron I get no response at all using the gui tool. I can only ping the router when using static ip address.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    5,549

    Re: Heron wireless - can ping but no internet

    how can router ping laptop?? from your ifconfig output it seems that your wifi interface is getting 192.168.0.1 .. which normally is router's ip.. so pinging 192.168.0.1 will be successfull as you end up pinging your on pc..in your terminal type lshw -C network and post output

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Beans
    14

    Re: Heron wireless - can ping but no internet

    Quote Originally Posted by superprash2003 View Post
    how can router ping laptop?? from your ifconfig output it seems that your wifi interface is getting 192.168.0.1 .. which normally is router's ip.. so pinging 192.168.0.1 will be successfull as you end up pinging your on pc..in your terminal type lshw -C network and post output
    Router pings 127.0.0.1 which is laptop's ip address. Does that make sense?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Beans
    14

    Re: Heron wireless - can ping but no internet

    Quote Originally Posted by superprash2003 View Post
    how can router ping laptop?? from your ifconfig output it seems that your wifi interface is getting 192.168.0.1 .. which normally is router's ip.. so pinging 192.168.0.1 will be successfull as you end up pinging your on pc..in your terminal type lshw -C network and post output
    Sorry forgot to post lshw:

    smejltd@smejltd-laptop:~$ lshw -C network
    WARNING: you should run this program as super-user.
    *-network
    description: Ethernet interface
    product: RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+
    vendor: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd.
    physical id: d
    bus info: pci@0000:00:0d.0
    logical name: eth0
    version: 10
    serial: 00:a0:d1:c2:e2:02
    width: 32 bits
    clock: 33MHz
    capabilities: bus_master cap_list ethernet physical
    configuration: broadcast=yes driver=8139too driverversion=0.9.28 latency=64 maxlatency=64 mingnt=32 module=8139too multicast=yes
    *-network
    description: Wireless interface
    physical id: 1
    logical name: wlan0
    serial: 00:0d:f0:45:51:6d
    capabilities: ethernet physical wireless
    configuration: broadcast=yes driver=ndiswrapper+netw35g driverversion=1.52+Winbond Electronics Corp.,0 ip=192.168.0.1 multicast=yes wireless=IEEE 802.11g
    smejltd@smejltd-laptop:~$

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Beans
    754
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: Heron wireless - can ping but no internet

    "There's no place like 127.0.0.1" is a shirt in my closet. That's the address of whatever computer you are talking to, and is registered to the loopback interface (send packets back into the machine, so they don't actually go anywhere).

    superprash is right. There should be another IP in question. When you're in windows, what is the IP of the router (the "gateway"), and what is the IP of the laptop? You should be able to check under the Network Connections control panel (somewhere).
    Hate fighting with Linux? Buy Preinstalled!
    Love fighting with Linux? Try Gentoo!
    __________________________________________________
    Unanswered Posts Team || Connection problems?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Beans
    14

    Re: Heron wireless - can ping but no internet

    Quote Originally Posted by nixscripter View Post
    "There's no place like 127.0.0.1" is a shirt in my closet. That's the address of whatever computer you are talking to, and is registered to the loopback interface (send packets back into the machine, so they don't actually go anywhere).

    superprash is right. There should be another IP in question. When you're in windows, what is the IP of the router (the "gateway"), and what is the IP of the laptop? You should be able to check under the Network Connections control panel (somewhere).
    Here's the router info:

    Router Status

    Account Name
    Firmware Version V1.02.04

    ADSL Port
    MAC Address 00:1B:2F:793:E1
    IP Address 81.155.136.92
    Network Type PPPoA
    IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.255
    Gateway IP Address 217.47.158.142
    Domain Name Server 194.74.65.69
    62.6.40.178

    LAN Port
    MAC Address 00:1B:2F:793:E0
    IP Address 192.168.0.1
    DHCP On
    IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0

    Modem
    ADSL Firmware Version A2pB018e.d16f
    Modem Status Connected
    DownStream Connection Speed 6368 kbps
    UpStream Connection Speed 448 kbps
    VPI 0
    VCI 38

    Laptop IP:
    IP Address 192.168.0.2

    Thanks a bunch!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Beans
    5,549

    Re: Heron wireless - can ping but no internet

    your output says that laptop ip is 192.168.0.2 but i didnt see it in your ifconfig output??? please post ifconfig output again.. ping router again.. and post output

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •