Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: [SOLVED] Can I update virtualbox?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah
    Beans
    487
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    [SOLVED] Can I update virtualbox?

    I currently have Virtualbox 1.6.6 installed. I have Windows Vista installed in virtualbox and I want to have the newest version of VB. Is there a way to update or install the new version and keep Vista installed?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Beans
    10,285
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Can I update virtualbox?

    If I recall correctly, you can update to VBox 2.0 with no changes to your VM

    You could always backup the .vdi file just in case

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Beans
    56,685

    Re: Can I update virtualbox?

    Just to confirm, updating the virtualbox program won't affect your virtual machines. It is also a good idea to back up your virtual machines just in case

    VBoxManage clonevdi source destination

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Beverley, UK
    Beans
    733
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Can I update virtualbox?

    I upgraded Virtual Box myself today by removing it (in Synaptic) then installing the latest version. I can confirm that, when you remove/ install it, the settings for the virtual machines are not removed. These are stored in ~/.VirtualBox. As others have mentioned though, it's good to have a backup, just in case.
    Everything that has a Beginning, has an End

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah
    Beans
    487
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Can I update virtualbox?

    Yeah, so I went to the virtualbox site and added the repository. I then installed it in Synaptic, which uninstalled the old one and installed the new one. Works perfectly

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Abuja, Nigeria
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Can I update virtualbox?

    Just install the .deb using dpkg -i 'package'.
    Do remember to reinstall your guest additions though.

    Have fun
    Ecclesiastes 3

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    76

    Re: [SOLVED] Can I update virtualbox?

    I installed virtualbox following a HOWTO on this site and following the link in the HOWTO I installed 1.5.6. So I tried to upgrade to 2.1. I should note that earlier I had the OSE version installed but I successfully uninstalled it and added 1.5.6. Now I uninstalled 1.5.6 and am trying to add 2.1. I get the following error:

    E: /var/cache/apt/archives/virtualbox-2.1_2.1.4-42893%5fUbuntu%5fhardy_i386.deb: trying to overwrite `/lib/modules/2.6.24-23-generic/misc/vboxdrv.ko', which is also in package virtualbox-ose-modules-2.6.24-23-generic

    Thinking something was left behind from Virtualbox-OSE I marked it for complete removal in the Synaptic Package Manager, rebooted and tried again. Same error. The file mentioned '/lib/modules/2.6.24-23-generic/misc/vboxdrv.ko' does not exist on my system, at least that I can tell so I can't figure out how to fix this. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Beans
    76

    Re: [SOLVED] Can I update virtualbox?

    Fixed it. Stupid me. In the synaptic package manager I scrolled down and there were many OSE module packages. Down near the bottom were a couple that were still installed. After marking those for complete removal it worked fine. Sorry for the interruption.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    36

    Thumbs up Re: Can I update virtualbox?

    Quote Originally Posted by slughappy1 View Post
    Yeah, so I went to the virtualbox site and added the repository. I then installed it in Synaptic, which uninstalled the old one and installed the new one. Works perfectly
    Thanks, it worked great! Followed the instructions on this page: Virtualbox for linux

    Quote Originally Posted by WRDN View Post
    I upgraded Virtual Box myself today by removing it (in Synaptic) then installing the latest version. I can confirm that, when you remove/ install it, the settings for the virtual machines are not removed. These are stored in ~/.VirtualBox. As others have mentioned though, it's good to have a backup, just in case.
    Quote Originally Posted by howefield View Post
    Just to confirm, updating the virtualbox program won't affect your virtual machines. It is also a good idea to back up your virtual machines just in case

    VBoxManage clonevdi source destination
    Backed up though, just in case.

    Cheers!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •