Thread: Potential Hack?

Beans

Potential Hack?

Hello All,

I am new to Linux/Ubuntu and I have setup a Ubuntu/Lamp box and I was just looking through the apache2 log file and i have a lot of lines that read 70.63.86.162 - - [14/Sep/2008:11:38:09 -0500] "GET /~fareeda/ HTTP/1.1" 404 319 "-" "-". There is a long list of these and it seems that it's an alpabetical list of poetntial user names. That is just one line of many. What is this? What does it mean? Is this an attempted hack?

Thanks.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: Potential Hack?

Quote Originally Posted by mregister View Post
    Hello All,

I am new to Linux/Ubuntu and I have setup a Ubuntu/Lamp box and I was just looking through the apache2 log file and i have a lot of lines that read 70.63.86.162 - - [14/Sep/2008:11:38:09 -0500] "GET /~fareeda/ HTTP/1.1" 404 319 "-" "-". There is a long list of these and it seems that it's an alpabetical list of poetntial user names. That is just one line of many. What is this? What does it mean? Is this an attempted hack?

Thanks.
    Possibly... crackers use "dictionary files" to brute-force login/password combos and the like. How many such entries are there in the log?

That IP address 70.63.86.162 is in a block registered to "Cape Fear Community College". Is that a real college? Does it mean anything to you? Or anyone else?
    Last edited by t0p; September 15th, 2008 at 07:38 PM.
    "All people are scum. No matter what they look like." ~ Spider Jerusalem, Transmetropolitan #4

Beans

there are a lot. It looks like a dictionary. They start with A and all the way through, just about every name there is. No the college does not mean anything to me. How did you find out what block it comes from. How do I stop that kind of attack. Wow I have a lot to learn.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick Meerkat