Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Borderless media player

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    80

    Borderless media player

    Hi... i would like to know if there is a borderless media player.. or can we make mplayer or totem borderless..????...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    671
    Distro
    Ubuntu 11.04 Natty Narwhal

    Re: Borderless media player

    Audacious works.
    It doesn't play video though.
    2010 IBM Thinkpad 510, 4GB RAM, i5-540M, NVS 3100M

    Running Ubuntu 11.04

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    80

    Re: Borderless media player

    I need it to play both.. audio and video

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    $HOME (Washington State)
    Beans
    4,590

    Re: Borderless media player

    You can make mplayer borderless. Look up any howto on XWinWrap (which allows you to use videos and screensavers as backgrounds), and you will find how to do this with mplayer.
    See my themes here! | Dont preach Linux, mention it | Make GNOME Themes
    I'm no longer on here. If you want to talk to me, go to noost.org.
    My DeviantArt | Linux user #461096 | Ubuntu user #15753

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Beans
    80

    Re: Borderless media player

    done that already... no luck

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Beans
    7,305

    Re: Borderless media player

    Hi,

    The svn MPlayer has a -noborder option:

    -border
    Play movie with window border and decorations. Since this is on
    by default, use -noborder to disable the standard window decorations.
    Andrew
    You think that's air you're breathing now?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Western Australia
    Beans
    11,480
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Borderless media player

    You could use a titlebarless Metacity theme, or even the "nothing" theme which is completely borderless. Of course, it takes effect across all your windows, but just think of the screen space you'll save!
    I try to treat the cause, not the symptom. I avoid the terminal in instructions, unless it's easier or necessary. My instructions will work within the Ubuntu system, instead of breaking or subverting it. Those are the three guarantees to the helpee.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    /earth/europe
    Beans
    1,450
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Borderless media player

    hmmm... if you use compiz perhaps you could specify totem or other media player to display without borders...?

    EDIT:

    yup! it can be done

    open compiz config settings manager, go to window decorations and add this to "Decoration windows"

    (any) & !(class=Totem)

    you can use the plus botton and then grap on the window that you want borderless. i suggest that you use class and don't forget to invert your selection (thats what that ! is for)

    also you can press H to remove the controls of totem.

    EDIT EDIT: man you gotta love linux!
    Last edited by zekopeko; September 15th, 2008 at 01:24 PM.
    WARNING: "sudo rm -rf /" = BAD Read this for more information.
    Q6600-Abit IP35-2 GB RAM-250GTS 1GB

    *Docky FTW!*

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Beans
    1,031

    Re: Borderless media player

    In compiz it is dead easy....I just checked it was possible.

    go into ccsm and into the Window Decorations plugin.

    Then add the appropriate exception to the Decoration windows line:

    by default it reads:

    Code:
    any
    Something like:

    Code:
    (any) && !(class=totem)
    should do it, I just used the little wizard you get by clicking to add to that line though.

    That gave me a totally borderless totem window, big bonus is that you can use whatever media player you want

    Hope that helps

    Edit....TOO SLOW!!!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    /earth/europe
    Beans
    1,450
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

    Re: Borderless media player

    Edit....TOO SLOW!!!
    muahahahaha!!!
    WARNING: "sudo rm -rf /" = BAD Read this for more information.
    Q6600-Abit IP35-2 GB RAM-250GTS 1GB

    *Docky FTW!*

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •