Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Made a huge booboo........

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Beans
    144

    Installed something, that changed my Ubuntu to Kubuntu....

    I have been playing around with my ubuntu, and somehow,I have added something that has now madeitkubuntu.and I cant get it back to how it was.Problem is, I'm not sure what it was I added that turned it into Kubuntu.

    Can somebody help me return my program back toubuntu?

    Thank you.

    John.
    Last edited by jakewc2; September 10th, 2008 at 08:05 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Beans
    341

    Re: Made a huge booboo........

    When you start GDM. There is an option to choose your "session" Choose Gnome.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    TN
    Beans
    108
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Made a huge booboo........

    sounds like u installed the k desktop environment (kde) which is a different graphical user interface (GUI) than GNOME, which ships with ubuntu. see if u can use synaptic or whatever ur package manager, i guess now its kynpatic, to install GNOME.
    Homegrown's alright with me

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    TN
    Beans
    108
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Made a huge booboo........

    Quote Originally Posted by u-slayer View Post
    When you start GDM. There is an option to choose your "session" Choose Gnome.
    yeah try that first before u go installin/uninstallin anything
    Homegrown's alright with me

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Beans
    144

    Re: Made a huge booboo........

    Oh wow,thank you so much for all you messages.

    I only installed this yesterday, by GDM what do you mean? When I start the pc, I only get two options, one is to start windows the other to start Ubuntu, when I clcik on that, it goes through the process, and starts Kubuntu.

    Sorry to be so dumb.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Switzerland
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Kubuntu Jaunty Jackalope (testing)

    Re: Made a huge booboo........

    It is advised to use a descriptive topic title; that means use a topic title that gives some clue about the content in the thread itself...

    A generic topic title like "noob here" or "need help" does not help at all. As you may have notices, just about everyone posting in here has some kind of a problem or issue or question

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Beans
    144

    Re: Made a huge booboo........

    Have changed the title, still not sure its good enough sorry about that. Was in a bit of a panic.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    $ pwd _
    Beans
    3,999
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

    Re: Made a huge booboo........

    GDM is your login screen. Stands for GNOME display manager.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    TN
    Beans
    108
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

    Re: Made a huge booboo........

    do u recall installin anything "just to see what it was?" nothin wrong with that at all, good way to learn, but u may have inadvertently installed KDE over GNOME.

    also, r u sure that u d/led the correct iso image? is it possible that u downloaded Kubuntu when u thought u were gettin ubuntu?

    what do u see when u get to the login screen? is there a dropbox where u can choose ur session? if so, look for GDM. if u don't see it, it's likely that u somehow swapped out GNOME for KDE.
    Homegrown's alright with me

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Beans
    144

    Re: Made a huge booboo........

    Hi, I thought that might be what you meant, I went in logged off, then the Kubuntu log in screan came up, I chose Gnome, but it still has Kubuntu come up. Teach me to stop meddling.

    What else do I need to do?

    Is Kubuntu better than Ubuntu? Does it make a difference? Apart from what it looks like?

    Also, I installed Thunderbird yesterday, it worked when it was Ubuntu, not it wont work, gives an error

    Could not launch application

    ailed to execute child process "/home/jakewc2/.mozilla/firefox/jlyjhf4i.default/bookmarks.html" (Permission denied)

    How do get that back as well?

    Thank you for you help.

    p.s. I did try to change the thread title, but it looks like as I logged out, I cant change it now, sorry about that.

    John

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •