Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: [SOLVED] initramfs- I've tried

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Maryland, U.S.A.
    Beans
    191

    [SOLVED] initramfs- I've tried

    Hello All,
    I built a new from scratch computer and have been trying to install Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron. I have it on an older computer and have been getting to like it alot. When I click on install Ubuntu I get this message:

    BusyBox v1.1.3 (Debian 1:1.1.3-5ubuntu12) Built-in shell (ash)
    Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

    (initramfs)

    I researched the forum as best I could for a couple of hours and found a few things to try. What I ended up doing was going to F6 and removing 'quiet splash' or whatever that is called and adding 'all_generic_ide' to the end of the command line. This is after I tryed to install in all three SATA modes that are available in my BIOS (IDE, AHCI & RAID). The appended command did the trick for letting it install. I had set it back to ide in the BIOS and it formatted the 1st drive and installed with no problem until reboot. When reboot was done I ended back to the same end as before:

    BusyBox v1.1.3 (Debian 1:1.1.3-5ubuntu12) Built-in shell (ash)
    Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

    (initramfs)

    Has anyone figured out what the deal is with SATA drives and Hardy Heron? I wanted to do fakeraid, but thats another question I'll save for later. My new system is as follows:

    Gigabyte GA-M78SM-S2H AM2+/AM2 nVidia GeForce 8200 motherboard

    AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ Brisbane 2.6GHz Dualcore processor

    4GB G.Skill DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel RAM

    2- Hitachi Deskstar P7K500- 500 GB SATA harddrives

    Sony Optiarc DVDROM and Pioneer DVDR Burner master & slave
    on Primary IDE Channel (only IDE Channel)

    USB Card reader in floppy bay

    Thanks in Advance,
    fewjr

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Beans
    3

    Re: initramfs- I've tried

    My situation was different, since I successfully installed ubuntu before having the initramfs prompt problem, but it might be worth a try.

    In WinXP, have you tried this? :

    chkdsk c: /f

    (you may need to 'schedule' the chkdsk and reboot windows)

    That finally fixed my initramfs problem that happened after my laptop ran out of battery while ubuntu was running.

    I was getting:
    ALERT! /host/ubuntu/disk/root.disk does not exist

    and then the

    initramfs_ prompt

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Maryland, U.S.A.
    Beans
    191

    Re: initramfs- I've tried

    This system like I said is brand new. All components were just purchaced from Newegg. I do not have WinXP installed at all. It was going to be my Ubuntu computer for now. I may duel-boot later...I'm not sure. Is anyone out there that can give me some guidance with this?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Maryland, U.S.A.
    Beans
    191

    Re: initramfs- I've tried

    Hello Again,
    I guess this is what is called a bump. I do not use the forums as often as some, but it looks like a great way to get and give help. I also do appreciate any help anyone can give me. I realize that you folks do it out of the kindness of your hearts. That being said, I am still stuck at this Busybox/initramfs screen. I believe I have given all the information that would be needed to start with. I am waiting patiently. Thanks Again in advance.

    fewjr

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Melburn
    Beans
    158
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: initramfs- I've tried

    Quote Originally Posted by fewjr View Post
    What I ended up doing was going to F6 and removing 'quiet splash' or whatever that is called and adding 'all_generic_ide' to the end of the command line.

    ...

    Has anyone figured out what the deal is with SATA drives and Hardy Heron?
    I had major headaches with the initramfs/busybox after upgrading 7.10 to 8.04, so much so, that I gave up for 3 months!

    When I managed to drum up the strength to try again it was really simple.

    For my system, I firstly removed the original drive ubuntu was on, and added "all_generic_ide floppy=off irqpoll" to the install line (and then in grub after installation).
    Now, I know I tried the boot options previously, but hadn't tried a different hard disk & with the problem drive (IDE by the way) out of the system, everything ran like a dream..

    so, I'd advise trying those other boot options, and trying the install with just one drive - remove the other while trying the install and switch if the first fails.. it may be one of those disks is faulty?
    Good luck!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Maryland, U.S.A.
    Beans
    191

    Re: initramfs- I've tried

    For my system, I firstly removed the original drive ubuntu was on, and added "all_generic_ide floppy=off irqpoll" to the install line (and then in grub after installation).
    I didn't do anything to Grub yet. As I stated before I was able to install to my 1st SATA drive after I added 'all_generic_ide', only to end back up at Busybox/initramfs after I was instructed to remove cd from drive and reboot. Could it be that Grub needs to be configured also to see the boot drive. I have no idea how I would do that when I can't boot into OS. Maybe I could try as you say to remove one of the SATA HDs and install again. Thank you. Is there maybe any more suggestions out there. I'm a little perplexed.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Melburn
    Beans
    158
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.10 Intrepid Ibex

    Re: initramfs- I've tried

    Quote Originally Posted by fewjr View Post
    I didn't do anything to Grub yet. As I stated before I was able to install to my 1st SATA drive after I added 'all_generic_ide', only to end back up at Busybox/initramfs after I was instructed to remove cd from drive and reboot. Could it be that Grub needs to be configured also to see the boot drive. I have no idea how I would do that when I can't boot into OS. Maybe I could try as you say to remove one of the SATA HDs and install again. Thank you. Is there maybe any more suggestions out there. I'm a little perplexed.
    Ah, sorry, misread your post.
    In that case, I'd try the same boot option at GRUB.. same way "F6", then "e" to edit command line and add 'all_generic_ide'

    If it boots you can modify your menu.lst by using

    Code:
    gksudo gedit /boot/grub/menu.lst
    in the terminal

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Maryland, U.S.A.
    Beans
    191

    Re: initramfs- I've tried

    Ahh....well thank you for that. I am at work, but I will give that a try and post results when done. It will probably do the trick. I would still like to understand why I'm having this problem. I have one computer running lastest Ubuntu, but to tell you the truth I'm not sure if that one has a SATA drive or not. I'll have to crack it open and look. If it does I just don't understand what is causing the trouble with this new computer. Is it because I'm using SATA drives or because I'm installing with two SATA drives installed, etc, etc? I was going to run this with Fakeraid and maybe duelboot with XP. I guess I'll just have to live and learn and try to have fun with it all instead of getting too frustrated. Thank you epidemiks. I'll let you know what happens.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Maryland, U.S.A.
    Beans
    191

    Re: initramfs- I've tried

    Okay....I'm back. I'm sorry it took a week to get to this. Night work and 5 daughters takes up time. So epidemiks you said:

    In that case, I'd try the same boot option at GRUB.. same way "F6", then "e" to edit command line and add 'all_generic_ide'

    If it boots you can modify your menu.lst by using

    Code:

    gksudo gedit /boot/grub/menu.lst

    in the terminal
    So last night I tried to boot harddisk. When Grub loaded, I hit esc to enter Grub. These are the entries under Grub:

    Ubuntu 8.04, kernel 2.6.24-16-generic
    Ubuntu 8.04, kernel 2.6.24.16-generic (recovery mode)
    Ubuntu 8.04, memtest86t

    I hit "e" to edit, the entries are:

    root (hd0,0)
    kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.24-16-generic root=UUID=3f5cd6c3-59e3-4c83->
    initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.24.16-generic
    quiet

    I selected 2nd entry and hit "e" to edit and added all_generic_ide to the end of the command string.It only ended back up at the Busybox screen. Now if I boot to the livecd again and get to the partitioner, if I choose manuel instead of guided I see that my SATA drives are listed as dev/sda & /dev/sdb. So I did try the install again....and this time when I did it I selected guided-use whole disk. Then at the ready to install screen I hit the advanced button, which I did not do the first time. Then it says Device for boot loader installation. In the drop-down menu it had hd0 listed. I selected /dev/sda instead of leaving it at hd0 this time. Then when it finished installing, even with all_generic_ide I still ended up at Busybox.
    During boot I noticed a message flash on the screen right after Grub counts down and had to boot half a dozen to write it down...lol.

    MP BIOS Bug: 8254 timer not connected to IO-APIC

    I did some researching on this fine forum and found that it is a common problem for new hardware due to the timer being moved to a different place that Ubuntu hasn't been apprised of yet....maybe in the next version huh. So anyway, I tried booting the livedisk again and selected the first entry to try without installing, which wouldn't work before. I edited and added "all_generic_ide noapic nolapic" and it allowed me to run it. So I tried to edit with these parameters to boot my harddisk, but it still would not boot into Ubuntu (Busybox). So I tried everything I can think of. Anymore help would be appreciated.

    fewjr

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Beans
    8

    Re: initramfs- I've tried

    Hi , I am a very new ubuntu user and was having the same problems. I had done the all_generic_ide stuff etc and was beating my head against the wall.
    I got the impression it was a hardware incompatibilty problem, so started changing components where possible.
    I removed the dvd drive and put in an old Cd drive. That got me away from the initramfs problem and furtehr towards a full install. I then gor into a video driver problem with my nvidia 7800 gt card so installed using F4 at boot - safe video mode. Now just have nvidia driver probs.
    May not help you but hey.
    I only have one daughter, so you get my respect.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •