Thread: Installing ATI Graphics Driver

Hybrid View

Beans

Exclamation Installing ATI Graphics Driver

Hey people! I have Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy version and it is a 64 bit version also (let me know if you need more info). Anyway I'm totally new to Linux and I successfully compiled a game called bzflag which requires 3D Acceleration. I have a ATI Radeon X1650 AGP. And I download the driver on this link http://ati.amd.com/support/drivers/l...64-radeon.html
    And it saved to my desktop so I opened it and it opens text editor for some odd reason. And I really need to get my 3d acceleration and all that good stuff going with my ATI card. PLEASE help me!

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Development Release

Re: Installing ATI Graphics Driver

go to system>administration>hardware drivers to install.

Beans
    Distro

Try the restricted drivers manager, your driver should be there.

Beans

Actually this method might not be best, plus ATI cards really suck in linux (more of a ati issue there though)
    did you try the restricted drivers app?
    its in system> administration> hardware drivers.
    HOME BUILT SYSTEM! http://brainstorm.ubuntu.com/idea/22804/ Please vote up!
    remember kiddies: sudo rm -rf= BAD!, if someone tells you to do this, please ignore them unless YOU WANT YOUR SYSTEM WIPED

Beans
    Distro

Quote Originally Posted by lol_u died View Post
    Hey people! I have Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy version and it is a 64 bit version also (let me know if you need more info). Anyway I'm totally new to Linux and I successfully compiled a game called bzflag which requires 3D Acceleration. I have a ATI Radeon X1650 AGP. And I download the driver on this link http://ati.amd.com/support/drivers/l...64-radeon.html
    And it saved to my desktop so I opened it and it opens text editor for some odd reason. And I really need to get my 3d acceleration and all that good stuff going with my ATI card. PLEASE help me!