Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Webcam does not show in ZoneMinder?? please help

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Luton, UK
    Beans
    24
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Question Webcam does not show in ZoneMinder?? please help

    My webcam works in cheese but does not work in ZoneMiner
    - as you can see in the attached screenshot.


    The error I receive in the log is as follows:

    08/30/08 00:25:31.328090 zmwatch[5637].INF [Restarting capture daemon for New, shared memory not valid]
    08/30/08 00:25:31.614872 zmwatch[5637].INF ['zmc -d /dev/video0' stopping at 08/08/30 00:25:31]

    I've tried increasing the memory allocated but still no luck...

    I would really appreciate any help!!
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Beans
    5,854
    Distro
    Ubuntu

    Re: Webcam does not show in ZoneMinder?? please help

    Post results of > lsusb

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Luton, UK
    Beans
    24
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Webcam does not show in ZoneMinder?? please help

    Quote Originally Posted by Codename View Post
    Post results of > lsusb
    I hope this is what you meant:

    peter@peter-desktop:~$ lsusb
    Bus 003 Device 009: ID 043d:0069 Lexmark International, Inc. X74/X75 Printer
    Bus 003 Device 008: ID 043d:0060 Lexmark International, Inc. X74/X75 Scanner
    Bus 003 Device 007: ID 043d:0061 Lexmark International, Inc. X74 Hub
    Bus 003 Device 006: ID 1131:1001 Integrated System Solution Corp. KY-BT100 Bluetooth Adapter
    Bus 003 Device 005: ID 046d:c03f Logitech, Inc. UltraX Optical Mouse
    Bus 003 Device 004: ID 05e3:0608 Genesys Logic, Inc. USB-2.0 4-Port HUB
    Bus 003 Device 003: ID 413c:2003 Dell Computer Corp.
    Bus 003 Device 002: ID 05e3:0608 Genesys Logic, Inc. USB-2.0 4-Port HUB
    Bus 003 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
    Bus 002 Device 002: ID 0db0:6982 Micro Star International Medion Flash XL V2.7A Card Reader
    Bus 002 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
    Bus 001 Device 002: ID 041e:4028 Creative Technology, Ltd Vista Plus cam [VF0090]
    Bus 001 Device 001: ID 0000:0000

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Beans
    33

    Re: Webcam does not show in ZoneMinder?? please help

    I have this exact same problem.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Webcam does not show in ZoneMinder?? please help

    Did anyone ever get this working?

    I installed zoneminder and cannot get it to work with either of my two USB webcams. I have tried Logitech Quickcam Express S5500 and Logitech Pro 9000, neither work.

    The cams show up as red-colored devices in zoneminder where working cam devices show green. I have changed perms on /dev/video0 to crwxrwxrwx. Programs Cheese and Camorama see the video just fine.

    Zoneminder works great on my Linksys netcams, but not USB webcams. Zoneminder is cool as it can be set to capture and record motion, databasing it in mysql.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    SC CT
    Beans
    88
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Webcam does not show in ZoneMinder?? please help

    You might want to try this thread...

    http://www.zoneminder.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=63801

    This loads the camera in ZoneMinder as V4L1 compatible. This is what I had to do to get a Logitech Quickcam working. Just follow the instructions there!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Beans
    Hidden!

    Re: Webcam does not show in ZoneMinder?? please help

    Thanks DukeBoxer, that worked! I can now use either of my two Logitech webcams.

    Settings I used for webcam attached.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    SC CT
    Beans
    88
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

    Re: Webcam does not show in ZoneMinder?? please help

    Nice! It took me about 4 days to get everything working correctly after I realized I could install it from Synaptic. I was trying to build it for a day before that! It works good though. My wife and I have a café and suspected a property manager of going in after hours and we caught him 3 times on camera and once when I didn't get it recording yet (actually the first day I got everything running) One more thing to check out which was a problem for me was the Buffers, located in the "Source" pop up menu. I changed the post event image count to 600 so even after someone leaves the motion detection area the camera still captures and if he re-enters the area it will trigger it to keep capturing as the same event instead of stopping and starting a new event

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Argentina
    Beans
    251
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.10 Saucy Salamander

    Re: Webcam does not show in ZoneMinder?? please help

    Quote Originally Posted by DukeBoxer View Post
    Nice! It took me about 4 days to get everything working correctly after I realized I could install it from Synaptic. I was trying to build it for a day before that! It works good though. My wife and I have a café and suspected a property manager of going in after hours and we caught him 3 times on camera and once when I didn't get it recording yet (actually the first day I got everything running) One more thing to check out which was a problem for me was the Buffers, located in the "Source" pop up menu. I changed the post event image count to 600 so even after someone leaves the motion detection area the camera still captures and if he re-enters the area it will trigger it to keep capturing as the same event instead of stopping and starting a new event


    Does the installation of the Logitech quickcam drivers work from synaptic ? or it only downloads the packages?

    I want to know if after downloading with synaptic its all done...thanks

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Magic City of the Plains
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu 18.04 Bionic Beaver

    Re: Webcam does not show in ZoneMinder?? please help

    Please start a new thread for your question, this one's four years old.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •