Thread: video card/monitor settings, Big problems

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Angry video card/monitor settings, Big problems

I'm a complete noob when it comes to Ubuntu & Linux in general. I'm not very good with the commands, and usually search for things and simply cut and paste into the Terminal. Before I get to the big issue I've created for myself, I'll try to give some info on my computer.
    Ubuntu 8.04 (with a dual boot for Windows XP as well), Dell 4600, GeForce 7600, LG L204WT Widescreen monitor.

Until today I had everything set up and running fine, and then I decided to try and hook up my computer to my TV as a 2nd monitor. I plugged in the S-video cable and had no luck getting it to work. Through a search I found this link:
    http://ubuntu-utah.ubuntuforums.org/...d.php?t=893694

I did the "sudo apt-get install nvidia-settings", and it installed. Next (this is where I'm assuming I made the big mistake), I went to the "Screens and Graphics" settings in the Applications>Other menu. I clicked the "Graphics Card" tab, clicked on "Driver", clicked the "Choose Driver by Model", clicked "NVIDIA", and went through and selected the GeForce 7 Series. I saved the settings and rebooted.

When it began rebooting, I could see the Dell start up screen, as well as the boot page (selection of OS') on my TV. But when Ubuntu loaded up, all I got was a bunch of vertical orange & yellow lines on my monitor, and a black background with some red dots on my TV. I rebooted (power button), and unplugged the cable from my TV. Ubuntu then loaded up with a 800X600 resolution; I usually use 1680X1050, if I remember correctly. Of course, I was stupid enough to mess with these settings and never saved my previous settings (hopefully lesson learned).