Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: [SOLVED] running a local site and an external site...

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

[SOLVED] running a local site and an external site...

Hi all,
    I am trying to setup my server to run a local network site and an external site.
    I am relatively new to server setup but know my way around Ubuntu.
    I am using the default website virtualhost settings for my external site. I do NOT have a domain name for this external site. Users get to it from another site.
    I can view my external site fine and it all works.

Where I am lost is how to setup the internal site. I have created a new site-available 'testing' and enabled it and copied the default file and edited it as follows:
    Code:
    NameVirtualHost 192.168.0.189
    <VirtualHost 192.168.0.189>
    	ServerAdmin webmaster@site.com
    	ServerAlias www.testing.site.com
    	DocumentRoot /web/testing/
    	<Directory />
    		Options -Indexes FollowSymLinks
    		AllowOverride None
    	</Directory>
    	<Directory /web/testing/>
    		Options -Indexes FollowSymLinks MultiViews
    		AllowOverride None
    		Order allow,deny
    		allow from all
    	</Directory>

ErrorLog /var/log/apache2/internal-error.log

CustomLog /var/log/apache2/internal-access.log combined
    	ServerSignature Off
    </VirtualHost>
    The 'default' site's only difference is:
    Code:
    NameVirtualHost *
    <VirtualHost *>
    	ServerAdmin webmaster@externalsite.com

DocumentRoot /var/www/
    	<Directory />
    		Options -Indexes FollowSymLinks
    		AllowOverride None
    	</Directory>
    	<Directory /var/www/>
    		AllowOverride None
    		Order allow,deny
    		allow from all
    	</Directory>

ErrorLog /var/log/apache2/error.log

CustomLog /var/log/apache2/access.log combined
    	ServerSignature Off
    </VirtualHost>
    Then I edited the /etc/hosts file as follows:
    Code:
    127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost