Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Xubuntu too slow in Toshiba Libretto L2

Beans

Angry Xubuntu too slow in Toshiba Libretto L2

Dear experts,

I know my Libretto L2 may be too outdated but I really want it revive under the god of Linux.

I have limited knowledge of Linux but I luckily encountered some guy from the web that taught me to boot the Libretto via PXE and I can install Hardy through network installation into the Libretto L2, some spec of it are:

Crusoe 600MHz CPU
    128MB ram

I choose xubuntu, having been told that xfce is lightweight.

And I stumbled into two problems:
    1) It is just too slow to start up or to load any application in xfce, is it because I have 128MB ram only? (I've tried to find the MicroDIMM PC100 SDRAM in computer store but they are too old to be found, or as expensive as a new notebook)
    The same notebook can run winME with acceptable speed, and I wish for ubuntu there are ways to further trim down the OS/windows manager to make things run faster?

2) I cannot reconfigure the video setting for X environment, it is defaulted to 640x480 but my Libretto L2 has 1280x600 resolution. I googled for solution and found a command like:
    dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg
    I tried but it asked for my keyboard configuration only, never got the chance to touch the video setting.

Best regards,
    Red

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 13.04 Raring Ringtail

Re: Xubuntu too slow in Toshiba Libretto L2

Quote Originally Posted by redification View Post
    is it because I have 128MB ram only?
    Most likely, yes.

You can see if the system is chewing up your RAM by using the System Monitor. It'll show how much RAM and swap is being used at any one time. The system uses swap when it's running low on RAM.

Beans