Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 52

Thread: already installed 32, need steps on installing windows and then 64 now.

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Beans
    423

    Re: already installed 32, need steps on installing windows and then 64 now.

    Quote Originally Posted by PsychedelicWonders View Post
    ...
    But when I tried to install 64, when I clicked start or run ubuntu, the screen turned black with a red box that said "RGB no Input signal" and then basically shut off, but didnt.

    I tried a couple of times to do this... what is the problem? Windows works fine, so there isnt any problem with the connections.
    Are you doing this while conducting a session from the Live cd?

    Insert the CD and then reboot your computer. Make sure your bios has option to boot from CD-Rom before harddrive. You should now be in a live session. If everything is working correctly click the Icon on the desktop to install.
    Your Ubuntu User number is # 15355

    A must Read for anyone interested in Computer Programming.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Beans
    1,638

    Re: already installed 32, need steps on installing windows and then 64 now.

    I just installed the cd, restarted the computer and booted up from the cd yes.

    then it brought me to a menu screen, start and install menu screen where it gives you a few other options as well.

    I clicked on start and install and then got this blackscreen error message?

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Beans
    423

    Re: already installed 32, need steps on installing windows and then 64 now.

    Instead of booting, select the option to 'check cd for defects'.

    if no defects are found.. come back. if they are, redownload the iso if your iso is bad or just re burn the cd
    Your Ubuntu User number is # 15355

    A must Read for anyone interested in Computer Programming.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Beans
    1,638

    Re: already installed 32, need steps on installing windows and then 64 now.

    alright I will check that out on lunch.

    This is a brand new 64 cd though, i've never used it before and is scratchless.

    It is version 7.04

    I planned on installing this version and then just downloaded the 2 upgrades.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Beans
    1,638

    Re: already installed 32, need steps on installing windows and then 64 now.

    How exactly do I switch from ubuntu to windows and vice versa?

  6. #26
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    The New Forest
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: already installed 32, need steps on installing windows and then 64 now.

    Whne ubuntu is installed to will have windows in the menu.

    If you are going to install 7.04 then upgrade sequentially 7.10 to 8.04 - why don't you just download 8.04 - it'll be less to download in the end.

    Also there is a possibility of problems in each upgrade.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Beans
    423

    Re: already installed 32, need steps on installing windows and then 64 now.

    Quote Originally Posted by PsychedelicWonders View Post
    How exactly do I switch from ubuntu to windows and vice versa?
    You should just download the version you plan on using, upgrading can lead to troubles.

    You will choose which OS you would like to boot when your computer starts up through GRUB
    Your Ubuntu User number is # 15355

    A must Read for anyone interested in Computer Programming.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Beans
    1,638

    Re: already installed 32, need steps on installing windows and then 64 now.

    So at each bootup, it will prompt me to choose either windows or ubuntu?

    And If I am in ubuntu, there is a windows tab under menu that just starts loading windows?

    does it then shut down ubuntu... or keep it running in the background?

    What about when i am trying to leave windows to go to ubuntu... how do I do that?

    does it then also keep windows running in the background?

    Or will it always completely shut down the other OS when I'm switching around?

  9. #29
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    The New Forest
    Beans
    Hidden!
    Distro
    Xubuntu

    Re: already installed 32, need steps on installing windows and then 64 now.

    You will need to reboot to access either os.

    Edit- perhaps you are talking about wubi, a dual boot installation is different - when you boot you will get a menu - choose buntu or win.

    When you want the other you will have to reboot to do so.
    Last edited by Elfy; August 4th, 2008 at 03:55 PM.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Beans
    1,638

    Re: already installed 32, need steps on installing windows and then 64 now.

    ok, so the "menu" you guys are referencing is basically the DOS startup?

    At startup it will give me the option of OS?

    There isnt actually a tab in windows for ubuntu and a tab in ubuntu for windows?

    What is this wubi?

    Does this allow you to have a quick "shortcut" button in either windows or ubuntu to quickly launch the other and shut down the current?

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •