Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Intel GMA X3100 help?

Beans

Question Intel GMA X3100 help?

Hey,
    here is my problem. I recently purchased a Toshiba A205-S5000 laptop, on sale at walmart. I am very new to the Linux based OS's but after maybe 2 hours I managed to get the wireless card to work. I have gotten that far, the problem now is my graphics card. The laptop came with Windows Vista Home pre-installed, I formatted the HDD and replaced it with a fresh Ubuntu 7.10 OS and upgraded to 8.04 and installed all the latest updates. I have done research on the GMA X3100 and it should have 300 something MB of GP memory. On ubuntu I can't even set my Appearance Preferences to Normal... I entered this code into the terminal
    Code:
    lspci | grep VGA
    I got this return line
    Code:
    michael@michael-laptop:~$ lspci | grep VGA
    00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 0c)
    Do I have the correct drivers? Why can't I improve my Visual Effects? Please can someone help?

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

Re: Intel GMA X3100 help?

hmm the X3100 should work fine out of the box. mine does at anyrate.

ubuntu definitely has the drivers for it so no worries there and that is the correct return code for lspci.

it is strange that you can't change your appearence settings(i have issues there as well, but its a different issue thats solved by setting them to normal)

Beans
    Distro
    Xubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

EDIT:total blackout...
    Intel Core i5 CPU 750 oc@3.75GHz - Asus P7P55D - Nvidia GTX 260

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

There isn't a special install for that card. The driver is already in the kernel I believe. You can look at your /etc/X11/xor.conf but if "intel" is the listed driver that's the best you can do with that card right now in linux.