Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Can't Install VMware Fusion Tools

Beans

Can't Install VMware Fusion Tools

Hi, 1st day ever using Ubuntu.

I have an iMac 20" 4GB RAM Intel Core 2 Duo (alu), about 8 months old.

Were using parallels, but really struggled to install Windows & Ubuntu, so I got VMware fusion, installed both Windows XP & Ubuntu without any problems.

As you all know, Ubuntu at it's basic screen settings isn't bad, but I want to / have to install VMware Fusion Tools.

I'm no expert, but I learn fairly fast & can generally solve common problems easily. I understand to install VMware F Tools I need to have Super Admin Rights (or something similar). I went & changed the root folders password to my own, also gave myself root admin priviledges, but to no avail. In the Terminal Command, whenever I type in (su -), I'm then asked for my password, but when I've typed that it, access is denied / or wrong password or something.

Please someone help, I spent 5 hours today (googled it, help docs etc), did exactly everything as I read it, still nothing.

I know there's more to Ubuntu than what I've experienced.

VMware Fusion 1.1.3 (94249)
    Leopard, fully updated
    Newest Ubuntu Version

Thanx

Beans

Re: Can't Install VMware Fusion Tools

Quote Originally Posted by obelix112za View Post
    I went & changed the root folders password to my own, also gave myself root admin priviledges, but to no avail. In the Terminal Command, whenever I type in (su -), I'm then asked for my password, but when I've typed that it, access is denied / or wrong password or something.
    Not really sure what you mean when you say you "changed the root folders password to my own". Help me understand what you were trying to do, and exactly how you went about it.