Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Linksys WRT54GS on Hardy - Almost No Action

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Beans
    105

    Linksys WRT54GS on Hardy - Almost No Action

    Linksys setup instructions for a WinXP installation advise going to the router at 192.168.1.1 and changing that to 192.168.2.1. I did that in Firefox on Ubuntu and got an indication that the process was successful. But the screen seemed to freeze at that point, and refreshing gave me an "Unable to connect." Another computer running Ubuntu has the same experience. I can connect directly to the Internet using either machine, but nothing happens with connections through the router. It's a new router. I bought it because the previous one, a WRT54GL, was suddenly having this same problem, after weeks of successful connections.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    US
    Beans
    2,782
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Linksys WRT54GS on Hardy - Almost No Action

    there is really no need to go to 192.168.2.1 unless you have some weird network. Anyways try reseting it to defaults so you can get back into the configuration screen. Hold the reset button in for 15 seconds or so. I actually pull the power out while holding it and plug it back in while I am still holding it down. That should clear out any problems in the router.
    Desktop: Q6600 OC: 343 x 9, 4 GB RAM, 8600 GTS Twinview (22",17"), 1.5 TB RAID 5
    Laptop: Lenovo T61 T7300 @ 2 GHz, 2GB RAM, Nvidia 140M Quadro, 160 GB harddrive
    Remember to mark posts as [SOLVED] when your problem is resolved

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Beans
    105

    Re: Linksys WRT54GS on Hardy - Almost No Action

    For some reason, they have you reset it to 192.168.2.1 when you go through the automated tech support guide at Linksys (800-326-7114). Your reset instructions and/or their guide enabled me to go online through my secondary computer. I can't say which did it exactly; I was focused on the primary computer at the time. The primary computer still can't go online through the router, but is able to do so when I connect the computer directly to the modem.

    Using Ubuntu's Network Tools, Ping is successful to 192.168.2.1, but nowhere else. Using Netstat, I see interfaces with vmnet8, eth0, and lo. I remember seeing a report, somewhere along the way, to the effect that vmnet8 doesn't exist. I think I created it in the configuration process by mistake. Could that be interfering somehow?

    <a couple of hours pass>

    I have now rebooted into Windows XP, on the dual-booting primary computer, and have finished installing its drivers. WinXP is able to go online through the router. I reboot into Ubuntu and it, too, is now online. A mystery. Did rebooting do it? Did it help to have Windows lead the way?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    US
    Beans
    2,782
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

    Re: Linksys WRT54GS on Hardy - Almost No Action

    im pretty certain that windows wouldnt have fixed anything. It was more likely the restart of the router or the restart of the computer/network module.
    Desktop: Q6600 OC: 343 x 9, 4 GB RAM, 8600 GTS Twinview (22",17"), 1.5 TB RAID 5
    Laptop: Lenovo T61 T7300 @ 2 GHz, 2GB RAM, Nvidia 140M Quadro, 160 GB harddrive
    Remember to mark posts as [SOLVED] when your problem is resolved

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Beans
    105

    Re: Linksys WRT54GS on Hardy - Almost No Action

    You're right. The problem is back, and a reboot into Windows and back into Ubuntu has solved nothing.

    It doesn't seem to be the router. I have two computers connected to it, and the one on which I'm typing these words is connecting without a problem -- except that I just got "The page isn't redirecting properly" when I tried to connect to a VMware forum.

    On the other computer, I was able to go online when I booted into Windows. I just can't go online when I'm in Ubuntu.

    I was trying to get to a VMware forum because there is something I don't understand. When I go into Ubuntu's System > Administration > Network Tools > Devices, I see four network devices: Loopback Interface (lo), Ethernet Interface (eth0), Unknown Interface (vmnet1), and Unknown Interface (vmnet8). Could the problem be in those two unknown interfaces?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NC, USA
    Beans
    829
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

    Re: Linksys WRT54GS on Hardy - Almost No Action

    I dont see why anyone changes it at all anyway, unless you've got several routers on several subnets. I just left mine at 1.1 and my computers increment from there.
    Linux User #460341 || Ubuntu User #19510 || Unanswered Posts Team

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Beans
    105

    Re: Linksys WRT54GS on Hardy - Almost No Action

    Not sure why vmnet-eight got converted into a smiley face in the previous post. I guess the computer thought I was funny.

    But anyway, does anyone have a theory on this connection problem?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    California, USA
    Beans
    8,111

    Re: Linksys WRT54GS on Hardy - Almost No Action

    I'm not sure if I'm understanding correctly your problem, but if you do
    Code:
    john@TECH5321:~$ route -n
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
    192.168.1.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 wlan0
    169.254.0.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.0.0     U     1000   0        0 wlan0
    0.0.0.0         192.168.1.1     0.0.0.0         UG    100    0        0 wlan0
    That 192.168.1.1 should be 192.168.2.1 for you, if that is the address of your router now. If it isn't, then you need to set up your gateway correctly; one way you can do this is just by setting up a static IP in Network Manager (vs DHCP), and then you can manually set your gateway address.

    Or maybe I'm totally off-base here and have misunderstood your problem.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Beans
    105

    Re: Linksys WRT54GS on Hardy - Almost No Action

    Thanks for that. Here's what I get:

    192.168.2.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 . . . vmnet8
    192.168.2.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 . . . eth0
    172.16.237.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 . . . vmnet1
    169.254.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.0.0 . . . eth0

    The ellipses (. . .) replace Flags (all U), Metric (all 0 except the last is 1000), Ref (all 0), and Use (all 0) columns.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    California, USA
    Beans
    8,111

    Re: Linksys WRT54GS on Hardy - Almost No Action

    So which is your wireless interface? If I understood you correctly from before, you had your wireless working, but then you changed your router's address to 192.168.2.1 and now its not working? Is that right?

    Please copy and paste the output of the following commands:
    Code:
    ifconfig
    iwconfig
    route -n

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •