Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: linux_newb wants home_server! :)

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

[SOLVED] linux_newb wants home_server! :)

I am very new to linux, and just got together the parts for a home server...nothing fancy.

Here is what I want to do:

File and Print Server

Server accessed via remote desktop through my XP machine. I want to be able to play around in my linux box from my XP machine.

I am trying to choose which distro to use, because I need some sort of GUI to do this, because I am so new.

Anyways, I narrowed down my search to either:
    Ubuntu Hardy
    Linux Mint
    OpenSUSE

Any suggestions?

Thanks,
    Paul
    Last edited by jcway212; July 30th, 2008 at 07:07 PM. Reason: re-deployment of question :)

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu

Re: linux_newb wants home_server! :)

Ubuntu hardy, but since you like GUI, try the desktop first, and install your server stuff later

The ubuntu wiki and help sites can be really helpful:
    https://wiki.ubuntu.com/
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/VMWare
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/ApacheMySQLPHP
    etc...

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 8.04 Hardy Heron

So you are saying install the desktop version first and use that as a server and install the apps, etc. The one thing I am going to do is make this linux server a headless unit and access it via remote desktop on my computer which is running XP. Any other suggestions?

Beans

if you are going headless, make sure you install some kind of remote control app while you have the monitor connected and make sure you can log in before you make it headless. Nothing as frustrating as getting it where you want only to find out you can't remote into it and have to dig it back out
    Debian Testing(64bit) + XFCE4 AM2 5200+ ATI Radeon HD4350, 4gig RAM,320Gig and 750gig HDs

what's the difference between an answer and a solution? An answer is what they want to hear, a solution is what they don't want to hear

Beans
    Distro