Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: [SOLVED] Elonex Webbook

Beans

Question [SOLVED] Elonex Webbook

I'm new to UBUNTU but have been using Mandriva for a couple of months as it was on the cover of a mag.
    Any one know anything about the Elonex Webbook. I bought one of these today without the 'orange' contract from Carphone warehouse as the price seemed good for the 'spec' and I've been looking at ultramobiles for a while.
    However I can't seem to get the wireless working
    The network manager has 'enable wireless' greyed out.
    having gone through the 'troubleshooting' steps I have determined that the hardware lists an Intel wireless device there in the machine
    Using lscs -C network tells me the lan is there and working but the wireless appears to be disabled with an ominous 'radio=off' and almost every other parameter zeroed.
    The man in the shop didn't say anything about wireless being disabled if you didn't sign up with 'orange'.
    Can anyone shed any light on the matter.

Beans

Lightbulb Re: Elonex Webbook

solved this one the answer is easy as I was looking for the complex solution when there was a simple one. There is a 'soft' hardware key to enable/disable the wifi hardware fn f1.

Beans

Re: Elonex Webbook

Me again; is there a record for talking to oneself?. Still this might be of use to prospective buyers of the Elonex. Warning:The machine sold by carphone warehouse comes with a 'four' page 'manual' and nothing else. It doesn't even mention the hardware lan in the description never mind the operation of the soft keys. The Elonex website appears to deny all knowledge of the machine and redirects you to the carphone website where you can get 'help' at about £10uk/ month.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.10 Quantal Quetzal

I just noticed these being given away for free by the carphone wharehouse if you sign up to their 3G service. I was more interested to know what Ubuntu runs like on this box.